Posted by: thedianestory | November 23, 2014

A Smile Goes a Long Way

November 23, 2014

Last night I was at Walmart and was feeling very sad and emotional, with a tear-stained face. Moments before I learned of the passing of a pre-mature baby; a son of one of my closest friends. I was trying to process the news that I would never meet this precious little one. As I looked up to head down a new aisle another lady in the store caught my eye. She deliberately made eye contact with me and smiled. That was it, and on we both went. My heart felt a bit lighter if only for a split second.

That moment reminded me just how much a simple smile can mean to someone. We never know where that person has been, what journey they are walking and what a simple kind gesture could do for them. It reminded me how we all could make the world a better place if we could look up from our phones once in awhile, take a genuine interest in people, truly connect with people, make eye contact for a change, and smile.

Will you all make an effort to find one person to smile at this week? Or more if you feel up to the challenge. I’d love to hear how a simple smile might brighten your day! Now go…smile away! 😃

Leave a Reply

Categories

