Posted by: thedianestory | March 24, 2014

San Diego Zoo

March 24, 2014

Going to the San Diego Zoo has been on my bucket list for several years now. I went to this zoo when I was two years old but don’t remember it. But because of that trip, I grew up with a book of the San Diego Zoo and read it all the time as a kid. So I have always wanted to visit.

20140313-163454.jpg

I am in San Diego hanging out with my brother while he is here on Navy Reserve Duty and we decided this year on the weekend to visit the zoo. Our mom and his wife, Elika were here for the weekend too, so we all got to spend the day together. We were amazed at the size of the place. We were literally there all day – from open until close.

20140313-164203.jpg

20140313-164238.jpg

There was so much to see. We got to take a guided bus tour, where we sat on the top deck and got sunburned. 😉 It was worth it though. We also got to ride the sky tram where you rode in the bucket up on wire and glided across the top of the zoo. I hadn’t ridden anything like that since I was a little kid and Disneyland still had them, so I thought I might have freaked out, but I didn’t.

20140325-030217.jpg

We got to see Koalas! I have never seen one in person before, and they are so cute. Plus Koalas very seldom move. They generally stay in one place for hours and sleep. But as we were watching and taking pics, one of them got up and walked across its bar to another tree. It was awesome! I’m so glad we were there in perfect time to see it!

20140325-030659.jpg

Another favorite for me were the Pandas. They are absolutely amazing to see. We got to see male and female, but missed seeing their baby because they had just weaned it so its alone for a few weeks and the dad got to come back out. Apparently he had been back in seclusion while the baby was nursing because only mom and baby can be together during that time. Anyway I could have sat and watched the Pandas for a whole hour!

20140325-030830.jpg

20140325-030848.jpg

The experience at the San Diego Zoo was amazing. I am so happy I got to go see these amazing animals and mark one thing off my bucket list. Have you been to this zoo, or have another favorite? Tell me in the comments below!

Responses

  1. SD Zoo has always been a fave of mine! We’ve had a lot of family fun there. I want to go back, but it will only be possible if they have motorized scooters to rent.

    • I think I saw people on scooters there so imagine they do!


Leave a Reply

Categories

