Posted by: thedianestory | February 20, 2014

For What it’s Worth

February 21, 2014

It is not often that I will blog post in direct relation to something that has effected me, but for some reason I feel like it’s worth writing some thoughts. While being vague, let me just say that people should really take a step back and think about how their actions might effect others.

I do my best not to allow my illness to become an excuse or copout for me in life. The reality is though – sometimes my illness IS the reason I may not be running 100%. I may miss a meeting, miss a deadline on paperwork or not feel up to a phone call that someone else sees as a top priority.

It is not that I don’t care, or think others should cater to me “just because.” But when members of an organization (people who I thought I counted among my friends) get downright snippy with me, leave me a harsh message or send me a not so kind email….those are the times I think “can you just cut me a little slack?” I’m fighting a Chronic Illness!!!!!!

It honestly hurts and is beyond frustrating when, because I wasn’t feeling well, I mess something up or have poor timing on organizing something and I get attitude from people, instead of help and support. I really could understand more if this were something with me that was commonplace. But like I stated above, I pride myself on not letting Chronic Illness get in the way. I mostly stay on top of things and know my limits. So I try not to over commit myself so I don’t have to constantly ask for a little bit of empathy from people.

So here is my plea to those of you NOT battling Chronic Illness. Be Kind. Be Caring. And please try having just a little bit of empathy on those of us struggling. A little slack, a little understanding and a dose of encouragement goes a long way for us. Oh…and we would love to see a smile too! 🙂

Responses

  1. 🙂

  2. Good job! People just don’t get it. Kindness and understanding have gone by the wayside.

    • Indeed. Thx for being by my side!

  3. I so wish we could just send a letter like this one out: http://www.anewkindofnormal.com/chronic-illness/an-open-letter (I featured it on my blog a few years ago but its been circulated with an unknown author).

    It can be so frustrating trying to get people to see our perspective but its hard to truly understand all that living with a chronic illness encompasses unless you have one. Sending you tons of hugs and love!

    • Jamee,

      Loved that. It’s so very true. Thanks for sharing. I’m so over certain people right now. Love you!

  4. Reblogged this on The Diane Story and commented:

    Because this was my most popular post this year, I’m sharing again. It is still as relevant today as it was then. I’d love for everyone to take a moment and think about their interactions with everyone. Hope you have a great end to 2014. Thanks for staying with me.


Leave a Reply

Categories

