Posted by: thedianestory | January 15, 2014

It’s a New Year, Let’s Make Things New

January 15, 2014

Happy New Year! For some reason ever since I became a “blogger,” I have gotten stuck when it comes to posting, at the start of a new year. I always feel like until I do a “It’s a New Year” post, I can’t blog about anything else. That said, it always takes me some time to come up with that post. But alas, my soul has spoken to me and words again beg to be penned.

The last few years it’s become en vogue to choose a “word of the year.” This word is supposed to be something that speaks to you, something you are striving for, or maybe just a word or phrase you love. If you know me much at all then you know I’m not one to just follow the crowd. So I’ve not before gotten into the business of choosing a word for my year.
But this year I’ve felt the Holy Spirit speaking to me; quieting my soul and moving me toward something: Peace.

Peace. That is my word for this year. Something I want to strive for in my life, in my home and in my relationships. When people come into my home I want them to feel such peace that they might wonder where that peace comes from. While my mom and I do life together I want our home to be a place of peace; a refuge.
I’m reminded of this verse in the Bible:
Philippians 4:7
Then you will experience God’s peace, which exceeds anything we can understand. His peace will guard your hearts and minds as you live in Christ Jesus.(New Living Translation)

It is my hope and desire that I not only feel God’s peace in my life, but that I may share that peace with the world.

Do you have a word or phrase, or Bible verse for the year? Tell me in the comments below. I’d love to hear your thoughts.

Happy 2014! Let’s Do This!


Responses

  1. Very cool! I like it. Live ya lots!

    • Love you too mom!

  2. That is an excellent word for the year. I haven’t got a word (interesting idea though) but my motive for this year is to be better at taking things to God and my verse to help me with this is Philippians 4:6 “Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God” 🙂

    • Hi! Thank you for the comment! I almost put that verse with the one I posted, since it’s the verse right before. It’s an awesome verse to help you through the year too! We’d all do better to trust God more and worry less.
      Hope your 2014 is off to a good start!


Leave a comment

Categories