Posted by: thedianestory | November 22, 2013

I’m Alive

November 21, 2013

Hello! Just a quick note to say that I haven’t totally disappeared. I’ve just been living life and actually have done some fun stuff worthy of being shared! But my soul has been quiet. Words have not begged to be penned. But I have had several thoughts swirling around in my head, that I’m hoping to find answers to; or maybe there are no right answers but I’d hope I could feel compelled enough one way or another to move forward in a direction.

Perhaps you could help? Maybe you could share your thoughts to my questions below….

If you feel like a “friend” is making no strides to nourish a friendship, when do you say goodbye?

And if you say goodbye to said friend, do you keep them as a Facebook friend? Even though you feel like a mere acquaintance and not so much a friend?

Does anyone besides me yearn for the simpler days, before Facebook, MySpace and iPhones? Not to mention all the other gadgets we can get our hands on.

These are just a few of the thoughts swirling around in my brain. Will you please help bring some clarity with your thoughts? More to come!

And a picture just for fun:

20131122-003654.jpg

Responses

  1. Diane, sometimes friends come into our life for a reason. Sometimes they stay and sometimes they go. I know how much it hurts to have a close friend for many years and then they don’t have the time of day for you. I say let them go and move on to another friend that you have yet to meet. You can’t force people to be friends forever. Those forever friends are so rare and if you are lucky enough to have one in your life, you are blessed. I had knee surgery and as I was recovering I never felt so alone. I had no one to call and have a real conversation with. That made me sad. I have pulled myself into a shell because of friends who I thought would always be there for me but aren’t. I protect myself from being hurt and am missing out on future friends God has for me. As far as FB, it’s up to you. Go with your gut feeling. If you want to cut all ties then remove them. Yes, I long for simpler times when people had conversations with their voice not always on the computer or phone. Technology has its place but it has replaced good communication between 2 people. I long for people to be real again.

    • Thanks Joanne. I’m sorry you’ve experienced similar heartache. It’s hard for some people to be friends with those of us who have walked hard roads. But I have been blessed with a handful of real friends. It just sucks we can’t live close to each other.


Leave a Reply

Categories

