Posted by: thedianestory | July 22, 2013

Summertime Savors

July 21, 2013

Summertime is the easiest time for me to eat healthy. So many fruits and vegetables are in season and you can do so many easy recipes with them.

One of my favorite things to make in the summer is smoothies.

20130722-013655.jpg

Like the one pictured above. It consists of five simple ingredients:

Ice
Coconut Milk
Almond Milk
Frozen Blueberries
Organic Vanilla Yogurt

I try to limit my dairy intake as my body is super sensitive to it. My doctors would love for me to avoid it completely, but I like cheese. 😉

Anyway, that’s part of the reason for the coconut and almond milk in the recipe. Plus I think they make smoothies taste so yummy.

Sometimes keeping both dairy alternatives in the house and being the only one to drink them, results in leftover milks around the time they’ve been open too long (their expiration dates are months out, but I don’t like them to be open for more than ten days). This time is nearing for me and my milks and I also have a huge tub of vanilla yogurt that isn’t finished and expires tomorrow. So that is why I made the smoothie I posted above, but obviously one smoothie isn’t going to use up all my ingredients. So it was time to freeze them!

20130722-014544.jpg

I blended almond milk and yogurt, and then coconut milk and yogurt and froze them in ice cube trays. Then when I want smoothies, I will use these cubes and have my milk and yogurt taken care of. Thaw a few cubes, add some ice and yogurt and I will be good to go.

The ice cube trays pictured are new. I found them at TJ Maxx and love them so much. The lid snaps on so you don’t have to worry about leakage or anything in the freezer falling into your trays. The lid snaps on, and has a smaller lid in the middle that you open to fill your trays. The liquid spreads out evenly and dumps into each cube. Snap that shut when done and pop in the freezer.

My friends have been asking what brand the trays are. Most assumed they were Tupperware (because I used to be a consultant) but they are in fact a brand called Joie. I think I paid $3.99 per tray (which is still pricey to me, but I really wanted ones with the lid feature). I highly recommend them! UPDATE: I just did an Amazon search and the regular price for one tray is $10.01. So I guess I got a good deal after all. Check your local TJ Maxx or Ross to see if you might find some too!

So there ya have it…one of my favorite Summertime treats, plus a good way to keep from wasting leftover liquid! What are some of your summertime favorites? Tell me in my comments below!

Responses

  1. I love simple ingredients.


Leave a Reply

Categories

