Posted by: thedianestory | June 19, 2013

Medical Update

June 19, 2013
Hello Family, friends, and readers near and far. It has been some time since I’ve posted an update on my health, specifically relating to my stomach, so I’m writing this to post an update for everyone wanting to know.

So…my stomach pains have continued and I’m getting sicker. I was sent to see the GI doctors who saw me back in 2009 when I was hospitalized down here for nine days. They have ordered a battery of tests (which I finally completed today) in order to make progress in getting to the bottom of what is going on.

Friday I had a gastric emptying study (to test motility) and I got word tonight that the test results were normal. This is good and bad news. Good because my digestion has improved; bad because it doesn’t explain what is going on.

Monday to Tuesday I had a 24 hr PH impedance test done (putting a catheter up my nose, down into my stomach for 24 hours) to test the ph/base in my body. It was pure hell. I barely survived it. No results yet.

Monday they also did an esophageal manometry test to test the motility in the esophagus. No results yet.

Today they did a Hida Scan to test for Sphincter of Odi dysfunction to test and see if the liver and ducts are functioning properly. No results yet.

Being so far away from home for an extended period of time has been very difficult. I have friends who live about an hour away from SF so they have been taking care of me and giving me a place to stay. A big heartfelt thank you to Joanne, for being so willing to help – even when it requires dragging three children to the hospital three days in a row. I couldn’t have done this without you! I love you!

Thank you to everyone for your thoughts, love and prayers during this time. I’ve honestly had such a response from people wanting updates that I haven’t been able to respond to everyone in a timely manner. So thank you one and all for your support. It has touched me deeply and I’m eternally grateful for each one of you.

Please pray for answers, wisdom and pain relief. And peace that only God can provide. I will do my best to post updates as I receive the other test results and am told where we go from here.

20130619-233516.jpg

Responses

  1. Praying for you, hoping you get some answers. I didn’t have a HIDA scan but I had the gallbladder ultrasound w/ contrast when I was having a lot of gallbladder pain and the gallbladder wouldn’t empty AT ALL. My sphincter of odi is messed up so I’m on medicine and if the medicine stops working, I have to get my gallbladder out…. just another little thing underneath a bunch of HUGE other things that need to be stabilized/taken care of. Let me know when you get more results from your tests!

  2. Glad I was able to help out!!! Hope you get answers soon!
    Hugs!!

  3. Love and prayers, my friend!


Leave a Reply

Categories

