Posted by: thedianestory | May 24, 2013

New Additions

May 24, 2013

20130524-060941.jpg

I am proud to introduce my new fur-babies; Crystal and Emerald. They were born on Easter Sunday and we brought them home on May 19, 2013. It’s been years and years since we’ve had tiny kittens and seven years for me since I named a cat. So it was fun brainstorming names. But with the help of my bestie, we actually came up with names fairly quick.

My cat we already had is seven years old and his name is Onyx.

20130524-061454.jpg

Since his name is a stone (onyx is a black stone) my bestie Sara suggested we stick with a theme and name them gemstones. So we brainstormed from there. Crystal has crystal blue eyes and a bright and fun personality. Emerald has green eyes, we brought her home in May and Emerald is May’s birthstone. And Emerald is “supposed to be” my cat (Crystal being mom’s) and my birthstone is Emerald too (can I get a big Happy Birthday shout out) as my birthday is May 26th. So that is the story behind their names.
Right now we have to keep them separated from Onyx when we are not home as he is not happy they are part of the family. I’m hoping he warms up to them soon. He’s honestly always seemed like he wanted a companion to play with and I think he will enjoy them once he decides to give them the time of day and stop hissing.
We had two older cats when we brought Onyx into the household and those cats were mad too and Onyx just wanted to be their friend. Eventually they warmed up to each other and we’d find them sleeping right next to each when we came home after being gone. But because the older cats were elderly they didn’t want to play and play like Onyx did and Onyx has always seemed like he wanted a playmate. So I think he will have fun with them once he realizes he can play. Onyx has seemed very lonely since Scamper died in February. I’m hoping the adjustment to kitty friendships happens soon!

Look forward to some cute kitty picture posts over the next month. They are too cute not to share! Happy Friday everyone. Have a lovely weekend!

Responses

  1. Happy Birthday to my wonderful daughter! U are very sweet and are always caring about things and people. I hope we have a great day together along with Carrie and her graduation from Chico state and her birthday the day before. It should be a fun time.

    Have a great day! Love you! Mom

  2. They are adorable, xx


Leave a Reply

Categories

