Posted by: thedianestory | May 23, 2013

Stomach/Health Update

May 21, 2013

20130521-185354.jpg

Hello friends. It’s been sometime since I’ve posted an update on my health. I just had a doctor appt today so I thought it’d be a good time to update you all.
My stomach problems have continued since their onset in 2009, with some periods of time being better than others. Recently (as in the last two months or so) my problems have intensified again. I even ended up in the ER one night because I hurt so bad. Anyway, my local doctors haven’t known how to help me and decided I needed to go back down to San Francisco to see the doctors who saw me when I was hospitalized there in 2009.
So today I saw the nurse practitioner who is under the main GI doctors at the hospital. I was nervous going into my appointment because I saw the GI last summer and kind of “butted heads” with her and didn’t finish treatment for the time. So I wasn’t sure how this was going to go. But it was amazing.
The N.P. came in and introduced herself and was all smiles. She was actually really laid back and had a calming effect on me. She spent forty minutes with me talking about my history and problems and where we go from here. We talked about our families and she even logged onto her personal family photo site to show me pictures of her adorable kids. It was incredible.
She had spent time thoroughly reading my chart and even commented that “she doesn’t understand why they hadn’t been overseeing my care and taking care of me.” She said “I’m totally confused as to why I haven’t met you yet.”
She was empathetic of all I’ve gone through and apologized that she was going to have to start putting me through procedures again. But she is choosing the simplest ones to start with in order to avoid doing the most invasive and “tormenting ones” unless we really have to. And to help speed up the process for phase two of tests she has me in the loop of what test results to watch for and I have instructions on what to tell the scheduler to do if these next procedure results produce certain numbers.
I have three tests waiting to be scheduled. They will be doing a gastric emptying study, a hida scan and a ph impedence test. The ph test will be the most invasive as I have to have a catheter that is hooked up to a transmitter put up my nose into my stomach to measure acid/base levels in my stomach.
All the tests are now scheduled and I can honestly say that the month of June is going to be a busy, trying time for me. None of this is fun to go through but I’m glad we will be making progress to hopefully figure out some answers and a way to help me. Much of my time will be spent in the Bay Area for medical appointments. Luckily I have friends who live close to the city and all have offered to help me and give me a place to stay. Just having that helps me immensely and gives me some comfort.

Thanks for all the love and prayers. I appreciate you all.

Responses

  1. So glad you had a positive experience! I will be praying for the next steps. I hope you get some answers before you have to go through too many uncomfortable tests. Love you!

  2. Much of this sounds very positive. I hope they will follow up and not stop looking until they find something and can offer you some relief this time. Hang in there my friend.


Leave a Reply

Categories

