Posted by: thedianestory | April 1, 2013

From My Dad and Jeanne

April 1, 2013

Endometriosis Awareness officially wrapped up yesterday, but because of being ill, I didn’t get everything posted that I needed to. So, continuing the Endo Awareness Support posts, here are what my dad and his wife, Jeanne had to say:

From Jeanne:

I have seen my beautiful step daughter, Diane, suffer with this disease since I first came to know her almost eight years ago. I have seen this disease cause her so much pain and suffering and it is difficult to know that someone you love is going through such tremendous pain. My heart aches to know this young woman had to make a heartwrenching decision to have a hysterectomy giving what I believe was her dream to birth children, and yet her pain continues. The constant trips to see various medical professionals and the need for such strong pain medications is exhausting for her and worrisome to those who love her so much. When we are blessed with her visits or are otherwise able to spend time with her, she often struggles to do more than she really feels up to. I can only imagine how hurtful it is for those who suffer from Endo and other “invisible” diseases to deal with people that I pray mean well, but truly don’t understand. My prayer for Diane is that God will touch her body, heal her so that her pain subsides and the meds are no longer a necessity and bless her with the full life she deserves.

From Dad:

Edometriosis doesn’t only affect the person with the disease. It affects their friends and family. You never stop being a parent, but there are some things you just can’t do as a parent…like go to the drug store and buy a pill that will instantly cure this horrible disease. You can’t stop the continual pain your child has been suffering for so many years.

So, as a parent, what can you do…obviously worry, cry and try to understand why it continues with your child. But the best thing you can do, you guessed it…Pray.

From Me:

Thank you Dad and Jeanne. I love you both! I appreciate your thoughts. It’s super touching to hear what comes from your heart. Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

Categories

