Posted by: thedianestory | March 30, 2013

From My Sister

March 30, 2013

I sent significant people in my life the following questions in hopes of picking their brain on their thoughts about supporting a loved one suffering from Endometriosis:

Endo questions

What impact has the disease had on your life?

What is it like watching your friend/loved one suffer?

How do you offer encouragement?

If you could give advice to a friend or family member who is just beginning the road of supporting a friend with Endo, what would it be?

The following is what was put on my sister’s heart (this is my brother’s wife).

But first, a word to my sis….

Elika,

The day I met you I knew you were destined to be my brother’s wife. I saw God’s love shine through you and I could see that you loved God more than anyone else in your life. I felt an instant connection with you and honestly loved you from the start. I’m so happy and blessed to call you family. I love that we are sisters and pray that we can continue to dig deeper in our relationship. Thank you for your love and thank you for taking the time to write this post for my blog.

I love you, Elika.

Love,
Sis

Without further ado, here are Elika’s thoughts:

I have been thinking about this over the last few days and honestly am at a loss as to what to say or write about. I don’t have answers or thoughts about any of these questions. I have not been in those shoes. The only thing I know to say is to turn to God’s Word. It is not empty or void but is meant for good and encouragement. Find rest, healing and truth in His Words as He is our creator. Here are some passages to dwell in. Ask the Lord to speak to you and reveal Himself to you as you read.
Psalm 121 – Whole Psalm
Isaiah 40 – Whole chapter, esp. vs. 28-31
The Lord is the everlasting God,
the Creator of the ends of the earth.
He does not faint or grow weary;
his understanding is unsearchable.
29 He gives power to the faint,
and to him who has no might he increases strength.
30 Even youths shall faint and be weary,
and young men shall fall exhausted;
31 but they who wait for the Lord shall renew their strength;
they shall mount up with wings like eagles;
they shall run and not be weary;
they shall walk and not faint.
Isaiah 43:1-3
But now thus says the Lord,
he who created you, O Jacob,
he who formed you, O Israel:
“Fear not, for I have redeemed you;
I have called you by name, you are mine.
2 When you pass through the waters, I will be with you;
and through the rivers, they shall not overwhelm you;
when you walk through fire you shall not be burned,
and the flame shall not consume you.
3 For I am the Lord your God,
the Holy One of Israel, your Savior.
Isaiah 44:1-8 and 21-23
“But now hear, O Jacob my servant,
Israel whom I have chosen!
2 Thus says the Lord who made you,
who formed you from the womb and will help you:
Fear not, O Jacob my servant,
Jeshurun whom I have chosen.
3 For I will pour water on the thirsty land,
and streams on the dry ground;
I will pour my Spirit upon your offspring,
and my blessing on your descendants.
4 They shall spring up among the grass
like willows by flowing streams.
5 This one will say, ‘I am the Lord’s,’
another will call on the name of Jacob,
and another will write on his hand, ‘The Lord’s,’
and name himself by the name of Israel.”
6 Thus says the Lord, the King of Israel
and his Redeemer, the Lord of hosts:
“I am the first and I am the last;
besides me there is no god.
7 Who is like me? Let him proclaim it.[a]
Let him declare and set it before me,
since I appointed an ancient people.
Let them declare what is to come, and what will happen.
8 Fear not, nor be afraid;
have I not told you from of old and declared it?
And you are my witnesses!
Is there a God besides me?
There is no Rock; I know not any.”
21Remember these things, O Jacob,
and Israel, for you are my servant;
I formed you; you are my servant;
O Israel, you will not be forgotten by me.
22 I have blotted out your transgressions like a cloud
and your sins like mist;
return to me, for I have redeemed you.
23 Sing, O heavens, for the Lord has done it;
shout, O depths of the earth;
break forth into singing, O mountains,
O forest, and every tree in it!
For the Lord has redeemed Jacob,
and will be glorified[b] in Israel.

Isaiah 61 – Whole Chapter

Matthew 4:23-24
23 And he went throughout all Galilee, teaching in their synagogues and proclaiming the gospel of the kingdom and healing every disease and every affliction among the people. 24 So his fame spread throughout all Syria, and they brought him all the sick, those afflicted with various diseases and pains, those oppressed by demons, epileptics, and paralytics, and he healed them.
Matthew 9:20-22
20 And behold, a woman who had suffered from a discharge of blood for twelve years came up behind him and touched the fringe of his garment, 21 for she said to herself, “If I only touch his garment, I will be made well.” 22 Jesus turned, and seeing her he said, “Take heart, daughter; your faith has made you well.” And instantly[a] the woman was made well.
Luke 4:18 & 19
18 “The Spirit of the Lord is upon me,
because he has anointed me
to proclaim good news to the poor.
He has sent me to proclaim liberty to the captives
and recovering of sight to the blind,
to set at liberty those who are oppressed,
19 to proclaim the year of the Lord’s favor.”
Cross references:

Luke 4:18 : Cited from Isa. 61:1, 2
Luke 4:18 : ver. 1; [Acts 1:2]
Luke 4:18 : Matt. 11:5; [ch. 6:20]
Luke 4:18 : Ps. 146:7, 8
Luke 4:18 : [Isa. 42:7; John 9:39; Acts 26:18]
Luke 4:18 : Isa. 58:6
Luke 4:19 : Lev. 25:10; [Isa. 49:8; 2 Cor. 6:2]
Rev. 21:1-7
Then I saw a new heaven and a new earth, for the first heaven and the first earth had passed away, and the sea was no more. 2 And I saw the holy city, new Jerusalem, coming down out of heaven from God, prepared as a bride adorned for her husband. 3 And I heard a loud voice from the throne saying, “Behold, the dwelling place[a] of God is with man. He will dwell with them, and they will be his people,[b] and God himself will be with them as their God.[c] 4 He will wipe away every tear from their eyes, and death shall be no more, neither shall there be mourning, nor crying, nor pain anymore, for the former things have passed away.”
5 And he who was seated on the throne said, “Behold, I am making all things new.” Also he said, “Write this down, for these words are trustworthy and true.” 6 And he said to me, “It is done! I am the Alpha and the Omega, the beginning and the end. To the thirsty I will give from the spring of the water of life without payment. 7 The one who conquers will have this heritage, and I will be his God and he will be my son.

Maybe do a word study of the Bible on Pain or Healing – healing may not be what we think it is or may not come in the ways we expect it to. Maybe strength or peace would be better for where you’re at. Be encouraged by the reality that God has many names throughout scripture…one of those is Jehovah Rophi – The Lord who heals you – Exodus 15:26; God is our Shepherd – Ezekiel 34:16.
Recognizing who God is and seeing His character can be a source of comfort in the midst of the daily obstacles we all face.
Lean on His Word and truth as your source of strength.

Elika Fisher

20130330-025950.jpg

Responses

  1. How do I start?

    The impact it has on my life is the following:
    Always being there as a support to my daughter. Feeling helpless that I can’t do more to make it go away.
    When there is a day that she feels like getting out we try to do that. We may plan on doing some fun shopping and then it is cut short due to the pain becoming intense and she needs to back home to rest or go to bed for the day. Even on trips she may sleep untilid day before she has the energy to be able to function. We just try to enjoy the time while we have it.

    To those who may be just starting down this road my advice is to be supportive and enjoy times that you can do things. Learn how to be an advocate in the medical part of things and pushy when need be. Seek out advice as to doctor references to help. Try to have a good support group to help with things when you as the care giver can’t do things. It is very hard when you don’t feel well and your loved one has this disease and can’t do much.

    It is very hard when you can’t do much to help your loved one and then you get comments from people who have no clue what is like to be a full time care giver. So as I stated above it is good to have a support group but it is hard to find that because most of the time it is your friends. Life becomes difficult when you ask for help and you can’t get it.
    Today’s world is not like it was 20 or thirty yrs ago people are to busy to care about each other. This is even true in some of our Christian communities.

    In short to wrap all this up be supportive,encourage the one who is ill and also try to help the family any way you can. Make sure to call the person who is ill and ask how are they doing and don’t just go through the person you may see all the time. This means a lot to the ill person to call them personally.
    I pray that one day my daughter will be well and can live out her dreams. We know it is all in Gods timing and not ours.
    God Bless, Love Mom 😊


Leave a Reply

Categories

