Posted by: thedianestory | October 17, 2012

Fall Festival (Girl Scouts)

October 17, 2012

Over the weekend my mom and I attended Fall Festival for Girl Scouts. This is a weekend dedicated each year to leaders on the Girl Scout Nor Cal Council. It’s really like one big party for women in Scouting!

20121017-020347.jpg

There are several different workshops you can sign up to take, such as Astronomy, crafts, flags, ceremonies, or making your own hiking stick. Some of the workshops are directly related to helping you better your skills for working with your Girl Scout Troop, and some are just fun for you (I hear next year there will be a workshop on Crochet).

There are four time slots for workshops and you are able to sign up for a workshop in all or none of them. Some women just take this weekend to relax and explore the beautiful area around the camp we stay at. Meals are provided through Sunday morning, and an awesome campfire ensues on Saturday night (I may be slightly bias since I lead song time 🙂 ).

I took a “pretty knots” class and only mastered two of the four or five I attempted to learn.

20121017-021328.jpg

Some ladies went for a hike up to Brandy Creek Falls after camp ended Sunday morning. I haven’t heard how that went yet. I left early Sunday morning, skipping the last workshop as my body was just done, in pain and I needed to get home to rest.

I had a great time, made some new friends, and look forward to next year. I will hopefully be going again!

Oh, and we saw lots of deer through the weekend. They are so used to people that you could get pretty close to them! So cute.

20121017-021735.jpg

Leave a Reply

Categories

