Posted by: thedianestory | September 5, 2012

Labor Day Weekend

September 4, 2012

20120905-010438.jpg

This labor day weekend my mom and I decided to get away for a few days. We had no plans on the calendar, and she had a 3-day weekend.

I’ve been feeling kind of frustrated and overwhelmed recently mainly because of health issues and the ramifications they cause in so many different areas. I really felt like I needed to get away and outside of the four walls that surround me at home.

Last year for my mom’s birthday we discovered a really nice hotel in the Sacramento area that, at least during the weekends in September, doesn’t charge an arm and a leg. ๐Ÿ™‚

So I made us reservations there for two nights and we got away. We just relaxed and shopped and ate out and had fun. We also found some major scores on clothes for my mom. The store was having a buy one get on free on almost every item. Plus for every $50 you spent, you got $25.00 rewards money to spend later. And get this – they calculated the $25 free based on every $50 before the discount came off. So because of that we got almost as much back in rewards money (to spend in two weeks) as we spent total that day. Such a good deal.

On top of that everything mom tried on, looked amazing. And I mean Amazing. It’s no secret that mom is a “plus size” woman. It’s always frustrating when stores carry crap for women of bigger sizes. They deserve to still look cute too and feel like a million bucks. Mom feels amazing in what she got. The cutest jeans ever, a jean skirt and her very first jean jacket.

See the pics of her above? This was from her fashion show in our room that night after shopping. ๐Ÿ™‚ The shirt she already owned, but the other pieces are new. Including her orange pants. That’s right, I said orange. Time to branch out to Fall colors baby!

It’s also time to schedule a mother-daughter photo shoot. I’ve got Fall shots in mind. What…you didn’t think I would be left out of clothes shopping too, did you? Ya right. Pics of me to come in another post. For now, happy Fall colors everyone!

It was a blessed weekend, indeed.

Responses

  1. Love the jean jacket! She looks soo cute!!!

  2. Love your spirit in this post! Very happy! Must have been close to when you got home when you were still in vacation mode. So glad your mom found some cute new things. I have the same struggles when shopping. A lot of things sold in bigger sizes are matronly or not age appropriate. They make me feel bad about myself & age me beyond my years. But maybe they do that on purpose to motivate us to loose weight, wish it worked!

  3. Oh yes as my daughter pointed out, it was time to get away. We shopped until we dropped. We had a lot of fun and yes ( I’m just too sexy for my jeans) lol!

    Until our next trip! Love you Diane! ๐Ÿ˜Š

    • Love you more mom!

  4. Josh here from the BlinkPack blog. Just wanted to thank you for swinging by. It’s always good to hang with Mom, and I’m so glad the two of you found some quality time away together.

    The BlinkPack blog is about finding adventure amid life’s challenges. Some of my readers struggle with money, some with time, some with health issues… I hope you will keep in touch about the ways you are finding to live life to the fullest.

    I wish you many happy adventures.

    • Thanks so much for the comment. Yes, through my daily struggles it is so important to find adventure when I can. ๐Ÿ™‚


Leave a Reply

Categories

