Posted by: thedianestory | August 3, 2012

Remembering Grandpa Fisher

August 2, 2012

My Grandpa Fisher died in October of 2007. Today (August 2) would have been his birthday. Usually on my late family’s birthdays I post the poem I wrote for their memorial; but this year I’d like to write to my grandpa and pray that somehow God allows him to hear my heart.

Dear Grandpa,

It’s true. You never really know just how important someone is until they are no longer with you. The older I get, the more I realize this. You were always important to me – your love cheering me on as I persevered through life.

I was the most fortunate granddaughter of yours – getting you all to myself all those years growing up with you and grandma just mere blocks away. Did you know how much I loved you? Did you know how much you changed my life?

You showed me love. You showed me pride. Do the other grand kids know about the files you kept for each of us? Do they know how you catalogued our accomplishments? You kept copies of news stories, school awards; you even asked for a copy of a stellar job performance review I got that I was so happy to tell you about.

You taught me through your life what hard work and dedication can do. You taught me what the love between a husband and wife should look like – for time and all eternity. You showed me the love of family. And most importantly, you showed me the love of Jesus Christ. You grandpa, left a legacy.

When I walked through a hard road a few years passed, Dad sent me a picture of you with a note that said “your grandpa hurts for you too.” I believe that. How I wish you could have been here to hug me then and pick my spirits up. But I feel you with me often. Your presence is known. I know your love – and I hope you can know mine.

I get to see grandma in two weeks. I know she misses you too. Visits with her without you will never seem normal. But I know you will be with us in spirit.

Tears stream down my face as I write, wishing so much I could have just one last hug from you. I’m clinging to the promise that I will see you again when we meet in heaven some day. For now I cherish our sweet memories – my most favorite one for sure: “one, two, two and a half….three (back goes the chair sailing into the air!).

I love you Grandpa Fisher – and don’t you forget it!

Love,
Diane

Responses

  1. Such a sweet letter, hunny. Jesus has surely read it to him, and told him of your heart and tears.
    I am glad you still feel so tender in your memories of a man you could trust. It is certainly a most important thing in your life.
    God bless you, sweetie.

    • Thank you. 😉

  2. How cool! Brought tears to my eyes. Yep. You never could get enough of grandpa playing with you.
    ;
    Love you,

    Mom


Leave a Reply

Categories

