Posted by: thedianestory | July 11, 2012

4th of July 2012

This fourth of July holiday was not terribly different from years growing up. My mom and I went to the races and then there were fireworks after. This year the fireworks at the race track were the only ones in town. I find it a bit odd that a town of the size I live in can’t put together a better program for a holiday celebrating our country’s independence.

On that note, here is a photo collage of fireworks and a poem I wrote for this holiday. I am grateful and thankful for my freedom.

20120711-041542.jpg

Fireworks and Fun

Boom boom bang
Bright sparks in the sky
Flashes of light above us
We see with our wide eyes

Our freedom rings true
Colors red, white and blue.
Soldiers around the globe
Protect the freedom of me and you.

Independence Day
Is more than fireworks and fun
Let’s remember the hard work
Those before us have done.

So have fun with family
As you run about and play
Be grateful for your freedom –
God Bless the USA.

Leave a Reply

Categories

