Posted by: thedianestory | February 29, 2012

Post Stomach Test Update

February 29, 2012

Hi friends. Sorry it has taken me some time to get this update posted. Turns out my tests on Friday took way more out of me than anyone could have expected. The tests went well and finally, FINALLY showed something wrong! I know to some it may seem weird that I am excited they found something wrong – but I have been sick for almost three years with this stomach issue and everyone keeps saying they can’t find a reasoning behind my symptoms. But Friday changed all of that.

I had an Endoscopy with biopsies done, as well as a BRAVO capsule placed in my esophagus which then transmitted my PH levels in my body to a device I had to keep within three feet of me for two days. I have the results of the endoscopy and will find out the results of the PH readings tomorrow, along with the treatment plan for what was found Friday, at my follow up appointment with my GI doctor.

The Endoscopy showed several ulcers, a hiatal hernia (which didn’t show in December’s endoscopy) and abnormal motility. This explains a great deal of my pain and issues. As I mentioned already, I have an appointment with my GI doctor tomorrow so I will find out the “plan of attack” is then. These tests were scheduled only to start the process of other tests that are most likely needed, but can’t be performed here. The original plans have been to send me back to San Fransisco where I was hospitalized in 2009. So we will see what tomorrow holds. I will have to post another update after I find out where we go from here.

Now onto the pelvic pain update so many of you requested on Facebook yesterday. I mentioned I was seeing my local Endometriosis doctor yesterday for the first time since the end of 2010. I haven’t seen my local doctor since then because I’ve been going to see Dr. Cook out of town. But I felt it was time to get back in with my local doctors….traveling is getting not only expensive but wearing on my body and I don’t know if I have it in me to keep traveling so far to see doctors. I have not gotten the relief  I was hoping for by seeing Dr. Cook, so I am at a loss as to what to do.

So Dr. Davis yesterday wasn’t a lot of help. It was an emotional appointment, trying to update him on not only what  I’ve been through with surgeries this past year, but also rehashing the last three years of my life…as he wanted more details than he knew before. He is sort of at a loss as to what to do to help as well. The only thing we really have not tried much is Acupuncture. There is a lady here whom he would like me to see…but once again, she doesn’t take insurance. I’d have to bill my insurance on my own…and after what my copay is and the percentage that my insurance would pay…it leaves me with a hefty bill still. Not to mention Acupuncture isn’t something that I’ve been very comfortable with.

So, basically my local doctor wants me to seek out Acupuncture. My out of town doctor wants me to see the physical therapist in his office, since the lady I’ve seen here locally didn’t seem to make much difference. Both options have huge financial obligations. And after talking to Dr. Davis yesterday, it makes sense that Physical Therapy wouldn’t help because it trains me how to help my muscles relax, but my muscles are having acute spasms and contracting involuntary…so there isn’t anything I can do to help that, except to soak in a hot tub of water.

Right now I am only surviving on pain medication between both sets of issues….stomach and pelvic pain. We will see tomorrow what the plan for my stomach issues are and then go from there to figure out the rest of it. I covet your prayers and words of encourgement during this time. I’m struggling to keep fighting. I’ve been strong for a long time but am growing weary of being poked and prodded constantly. I just want it all to stop. 🙂

More updates as I get them. Remember to wear YELLOW tomorrow, March 1 for the kick off of Endometriosis Awareness Month. Show your support for me and the 5.5 million women who are afflicted with this terrible disease. Thanks Friends!

Responses

  1. Aww, honey. 😦 I am so sad you are still going through so much. But I am also glad for some answers, finally.
    It is so hard to hear that you have to survive on pain meds, which only inflame the stomach more. ugh! I can barely take one anti-inflammatory and my stomach is a total mess!
    I am praying for you, sweetie. I know it doesn’t sound like much, but it is the best I can offer, and ultimately the best thing there is. Lord! Move your hand on Diane’s behalf and guide these doctors and the people in her life and create peace, healing and comfort for her, please!
    I love you, Diane.

    • love you too! thanks friend.


Leave a Reply

Categories

