Posted by: thedianestory | January 18, 2012

Greetings 2012

January 18, 2012

I am such a horrible blogger – having not gotten a “New Year” post up yet. What is up with that? I find myself backed into a box. Like somehow I can’t blog about other things until I have my first post of the New Year up, focusing on just that – the new year! How many times can I possibly say “New Year” in one paragraph? Too funny.

Anyhow, we all know by now that 2012 is upon us. It is so weird to me that we are in 2012 already. I graduated in the year 2000 and remember growing up thinking that date sounded so far away…and here I sit twelve years after that marveling at how weird it seems to be living in the days that once seemed like an aion away. I also sit here in the year 2012 realizing that life is no where near what I imagined it would be all those years ago.

I’ve often felt boxed in given my current situation – which if you know me or have followed my blog you know that I am referring the challanges I faced these past few years – failed relationships and less than perfect health. I’ve struggled to come to terms with where life is at. I’ve struggled to make peace with it. And most of all I’ve struggled to really find anything to strive for given my current state of life. Until recently….

I had lunch with friend, a former pastor of mine, who really helped me see my life from a slightly different perspective. He helped me to see that I need to be able to make peace with my life where it is currently at and be okay with what God is using my life for at this moment. It may not be what I envisioned, or what I had planned – but we serve a God who is so much greater than that. My God is not boxed in and can’t be put in a box! He may use me more at the place I am currently at than when I was able to serve in ministry so fervently. And I have to be okay with that.

God sees my broken heart and doesn’t want me to be broken. But life may never be what I envisioned. Perhaps what I always thought God had for me may not really be in His plan at all. It is my job to trust and obey. And it is my job to seek him and find him. “You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.” Jeremiah 29:13

And so my goal for 2012 is to find peace with this place I find myself at in life. It is my goal to seek God first and trust Him with the path for my life. I feel like I’ve always sought God and trusted Him, but somehow I have always hung on to my own dreams and ideas. I need to seek God and really pray about His plans for my life. Maybe I thought I knew what they were, but God meets us where we are at and His path for my life may be a little different from what I envisioned. I just want to have peace with where God has me and strive to serve Him and glorify Him through it.

So there ya have it – my “New Year” post. Now hopefully I can get back to blogging now that I feel like I’ve met the “blogging etiquette” of a New Year’s Post. How is your new year going? Tell me about it my comments! I’d love to hear from you.

Responses

  1. Let’s hope and pray that this year has answers and peace. Life is always changing. Somehow we adjust to what is given to us.

    God is our strength!

  2. Diane: I don’t think any relationship is ever a “failed” one. It might be different than we thought it would be, but there is always something to learn from it or gain from it. God does see the bigger picture and might not answer prayers the way we had in mind, or in the time frame we had in mind, but he does answer prayers. He loves you and he knows your name. “Peace I leave with you, my peace I give unto you: not as the world giveth, give I unto you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid.” John 14:27.

  3. Wise advise! I know God can use you to encourage others in similar situations. I know there is a reason for your strife! As much as I wish God would heal you, I know there is a purpose in his plan. The faiths of the people who care about you have grown stronger through your example of not loosing yours in these hard times! You are an incredible woman of God! Rest in him. When I am loneliest he finds me, gives me peace & I know he is all I need.

  4. God’s plans are always bigger and better than our greatest dreams. And He can always use us more when we get out of the way of our own thinking of what He wants us to do. I pray you are immensely blessed beyond measure this year. 🙂

  5. Sweetie, I find myself in a similar revelation (again, and at 54), that in my most broken place I am right where He wants me. I think this is because when we are in Him, and less of our “selves” (you know…our personal strengths and talents, are showing) this is where He wants us.
    I don’t think it is about our circumstances at all, but about our relationship, our loss of self-ability, our character. It is what goes to heaven to live with Him forever, so it matters most. Who we are. That is what matters. And, when we are so “in Him”, even out of desperation, we are right where He wants us.
    Remember Carman? He intro’s a song by saying, “What are you doing under the circumstances? Get out of there!” And then he sings, “God don’t care what the circumstance, He just wants your faith and trust in Him.”
    He does care about our circumstances, but wants us to care about Him and trust Him with the circumstances.
    About the time we think we have gone through enough and got this one, here comes another, deeper layer. And we are good for it. Because He says so.
    I kept thinking I was surely hitting the bottom of the bottom of the bottom this year, over and over I lay there waiting to hit. Then one day I got it!
    The scripture that says, “and underneath are the Everlasting Arms”, and the song, “Leaning on the Everlasting Arms”. The scripture that says, “between His shoulders”. I thought I understood them. But now I KNOW them! I never hit bottom! Because underneath ME are the Everlasting arms, cradling me, bringing up to His heart, holding me between His shoulders. I am not only leaning on the Everlasting Arms, but resting in them.
    Activity is neccessary (Rebecca watering the camels) when it is time, but Mary rested at His feet and listened to Him, heard His heart-beat, learned of Him. And He said that was the better choice. Mary surely did stuff, too, but knew when to stop and rest, not needing to work for approval or to be defined by service. His mother, Mary pondered in her heart, quietly and privately, keeping things to herself and not making anything happen that was promised.
    When we go through the seasons we are in, we come out KNOWING deeply, experiencing and even deeper, just knowing-that-we-know with greater faith, trust and rest.
    Keep on, honey. You are not alone. So many are being fired together, though differently/personally, and will come out shining brightly and fired in strength for what we were made to be.
    I love you always.
    (Did I just write a blog? I haven’t felt up to it! hilarious!)

    • Yes you did! lol I was laughing as I started reading thinking “here goes Shelley…I’m gonna tell her just to blog already!” So blog…please?! You have a gift for writing…make it one of your goals this year…to write more. And you and I both know how theurapuetic it is for us. Thanks for following and commenting. I love love love hearing from you.

  6. 😀


Leave a Reply

Categories

