Posted by: thedianestory | September 29, 2011

Some Tummy Talk

September 25, 2011

I love the ocean!

Hi friends, I have an update on my tummy that many will be interested to know. Hopefully this week I will get some more posts up recapping my summer and attempting to keep posting on what is going on currently in my life…and those will include pictures. 🙂 For now though, here is the latest Tummy Talk:

Last Sunday, 9/18/11 I started vomiting blood. My usual tummy pain has been preceding this, but the horrible feeling I had hit me like a ton of bricks. My mom and I were driving home from Corning, and all the sudden I just felt awful. Mom got me home as fast as possible, and the moment I walked through our front door I ran to the bathroom and started puking.

I called my doctor the next morning and went in to see him. He ran some bloodwork the next day and scheduled a barium swallow test for last Thursday. The results came back showing I have a hiatal hernia. It is pretty severe and is affecting me in many ways. It is even causing my voice to be hoarse and making me have a sore throat. The decision has been made that I need to have surgery in the near future. I have an appointment with a surgeon locally on October 13, 2011 but may decide to get a consult with a doctor out of town as well, as I am not sure how confident I am in the medical care here locally – considering I’ve been having tummy trouble for two years have pretty much been patted on the head and told to go away.

Beings that these stomach issues have been going on for two years, I am at a loss as to how long this hernia has been here. I am not sure if it is a new development, or if this has been the issue the entire time and they never did the proper test to diagnose it. All these questions I will be asking the surgeon on the 13th, trying to get to the bottom of it. For now I have been able to stop puking but still have tons of tummy pain, along with other medical issues I continue to deal with (i.e. recurring pelvic pain – separate post later).

I will update more as I find more out. Please keep me in your prayers.

Responses

  1. Praying For you…Love you!

    • love you too!


Leave a Reply

Categories

