Posted by: thedianestory | July 10, 2011

Blessings

God’s Promise Fulfilled

Recently I heard a song called “Blessings” by Laura Story (Find lyrics at the bottom of this blog). Listening to the lyrics I felt tears coming to my eyes, as I realized that these words struck a chord within my own life. I’ve been attending a Bible Study on Adversity and this song is clearly about just that. The words to the song just made me really think about the struggles I face in life; how I deal with them and what I learn from them.

In the chorus of the song it says “What if a thousand sleepless nights are what it takes to know you’re near.” I have sleepless nights a lot either because I’ve slept all day because my days and nights are mixed up, or because my pain is keeping me awake. Months back the wife of a former pastor of mine wrote me message and said she’d been praying for me and encouraged me to really just dig into scripture on those nights when I can’t sleep. She said God really wants healing for me and that I really needed to soak up the Bible. So when I heard these words in the song, it was as if God was confirming to me what my friend had said.

I will admit that I go through ups and downs in reading my Bible every day and digging into scripture. I have times where I am so dedicated and really seeking after God, and then I have times where I don’t open God’s word everyday and soon several days can go by without me opening it.  It isn’t that I don’t care; and I could write a thousand excuses why, but the reality is that if I truly want to hear God’s voice and serve him each day and truly believe that he can bring healing to my body, I have to seek after him. But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well.” Matthew 6:33

I haven’t really found a church home since my heartbreak with my resignation in the church I was a licensed pastor at. That is a story in and of itself; however since that time I have felt lost when it comes to a church home. There just doesn’t seem to be a church in my area that I feel I am supposed to be a part of. But recently I have been attending a Bible study through my friend’s church that I love and feel loved and cared for at. It is also easier for me to make Bible study on an evening than church on a Sunday morning, because mornings are really hard for me physically. Since going to this Bible study and having fellowship with other believers I have been much more encouraged in making reading God’s word again daily a priority, and, imagine this – I feel closer to God and hear His still-small voice more.

I mean, it should be obvious, right – that when you are seeking Him and having fellowship with other believers, your relationship with the Lord strengthens? It isn’t that I didn’t know that – it is just that through all my heartbreak with several situations in life, my spirit has been lost, and not having been connected with a church body or really keeping myself plugged into scripture as I should have, I haven’t been filled with the Holy Spirit as much as I could have been. You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.” Jeremiah 29:13.

I accepted Christ when I was five. I know how to be a Christian. I am a Christian. I have a personal relationship with the Lord. But because of this, it has been easy to be a bit complacent in my own devotional life. Not being plugged into a body of believers has really made it easy for God to feel distant. I’ve never stopped praying or believing; it has just been some time since I really felt His presence. Until recently, that is. Suddenly as I’ve been driving and listening to Christian music I’ve felt his spirit again and heard words spoken to me – and it feels oh so good. I feel alive again. I feel like I’m getting back to how I felt ten years ago when I felt the closest to God I’ve ever felt.

I feel God’s hand on my life again. I feel loved, and for the first time in a long while, I feel a little tiny ray of hope. And so this verse is my declaration: Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind and with all your strength.” Mark 12:30.  I’ve always loved Him, but I’ve got to get back to loving him with all of me – even those broken places within.

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________

Blessings

By Laura Story

We pray for blessings, we pray for peace
Comfort for family, protection while we sleep
We pray for healing, for prosperity
We pray for Your mighty hand to ease our suffering

All the while, You hear each spoken need
Yet love us way too much to give us lesser things

Cause what if Your blessings come through raindrops?
What if Your healing comes through tears
What if a thousand sleepless nights
Are what it takes to know You’re near?

What if trials of this life
Are Your mercies in disguise?

We pray for wisdom, Your voice to hear
We cry in anger when we cannot feel You near
We doubt Your goodness, we doubt Your love
As if every promise from Your Word is not enough

And all the while You hear each desperate plea
And long that we’d have faith to believe

Cause what if Your blessings come through raindrops
What if Your healing comes through tears?
What if a thousand sleepless nights
Are what it takes to know You’re near?

And what if trials of this life
Are Your mercies in disguise

When friends betray us, when darkness seems to win
We know the pain reminds this heart
That this is not, this is not our home
It’s not our home

Cause what if Your blessings come through raindrops
What if Your healing comes through tears?
And what if a thousand sleepless nights
Are what it takes to know You’re near?

What if my greatest disappointments
Or the aching of this life
Is the revealing of a greater thirst
This world can’t satisfy?

And what if trials of this life
The rain, the storms, the hardest nights
Are Your mercies in disguise?

_________________________________________________________________________________________

Hear Laura’s story behind the writing of this song here it may bring tears to your eyes.

Responses

  1. I really like this. I’m glad we can go to the bible study. It has been good. I’m enjoying it very much.

    Love you Mom

  2. Loving you Diane!

    -me

  3. Hi, honey! Very, very good and so honest. I really love the transparent and honest, always have but more now than ever.
    As you know, this rings with me, a connection and identification with where you’ve been, where you are and how it is.
    This specific song got to me the first time I heard it. I had to pull off to cry and felt so good at the same time!
    Love you so much.


Leave a Reply

Categories

