Posted by: thedianestory | May 20, 2011

1 Month Post-Op Update

May 20, 2011

Hi friends. It is hard to believe that I sit here, already one month out of surgery. I am well overall. My pain has improved from what it was and I am making progress. I still have some surgical pain which can take up to 12 weeks or more to completely improve. I still have to be very careful of what I do and if I over-do it, my body lets me know about it. This typically manifests in either tons of pain, or my stomach swelling up to the point that I look a few months pregnant (how I wish that were the case). The hard part is that it really doesn’t take much at all to be “too much” and it is hard for me to not do anything. For example: I bent over to sweep something off. Probably was doing that bending/sweeping for two minutes at the most – and by that evening I was in so much pain I could hardly move. The other night I cleaned the sanctuary (of the church we meet in) with my girls from Girl Scouts to give back to the church and say thank you for allowing us to meet there all year, and within an hour my stomach was swollen. So for now, I am still pretty limited on what I can do and therefore my house looks like it is caving in around me (I do not like that feeling).

I had a phone appointment with my doctor last week and we discussed the pain I was having. I voiced my concerns about still having some severe pain and not really knowing if it was still surgical pain or if it is still pain that I was having before surgery. He said that technically, given the 12 week timeline, I’m still relatively fresh out of surgery and to give it time – don’t stress out yet (easy for him to say). He also said however, that due to the pelvic floor spasms I am also dealing with, that alone could cause 10 out of 10 pain and that I really needed to continue physical therapy to try to alleviate the spasms. He said he normally recommends being  4-6 weeks out of surgery before resuming physical therapy – so I have an appointment scheduled for May 24th to get reassesed and see where we need to go from here.

Unfortunately I am still having my troubles with my stomach and so I am suffering with continued pain. Dr. Cook has given me the name of a GI doctor down in Menlo Park who he wants me to see. He has sent several patients to this guy and he has been able to help them. I need to call and make an appointment and see where we go from there. Hopefully we can get my tummy troubles under control and keep making a way to a life of wellness.

Thank you friends and family for your continued love and support. It means everything to me.

Responses

  1. I hope that by the 12 wk mark you feel better and continue to get better.
    I love you and wish there was more answers.

    Love ya Mom

    • Thank you mom! I’m so impressed you read and commented right away. Love you!

  2. I know it must ve so hard sometimes to stay positive but have faith! This is a big step in the right direction, I know it! Love you!

    • Thank you bestie. Love you too!

  3. Thank you for your blog. I can keep up with how you are doing and how to pray without texting or calling you. I’m always afraid that I will catch you when you are sleeping or busy and I don’t want to be a pain but this way I can keep up with you without bothering you. You are a great example to others and an encouragement to me. You continue to be in my prayers and we can’t wait to see you next month. Remember, as some of the best vegetables would say, “God made you special and He loves you very much.”


Leave a Reply

Categories

