Posted by: thedianestory | May 15, 2011

In Memory of my Uncle John Homan

Because of my surgery, I haven’t blogged much and because of this I have not gotten to share with you, my friends and readers, that sadly, on Easter morning my Uncle John lost his battle with Pancreatic Cancer.

Summer 2009 (U. John on right)

I love the picture above. My brother and sis-in-love and I visited my Aunt Teresa and Uncle John the summer of 2009. We were on their front porch taking pics and somehow these four started joking around with the men sitting on the women’s laps. I’m sure my uncle started it – always joking around. Anyway, it turned out to be the cutest picture and now I cherish it even more. I know Elika, my sis-in-love, loves this picture too. I realized while looking for pics of my uncle that I don’t have any pics of he and I together. How did I spend an entire week at their house and not get pics of he and I together? So to my family – if any of you have a pic of Uncle John and I together, can you send it to me, please?

Anyway, my uncle was a veteran of the Air Force and was buried with honors at Maryland Veterans Cemetery, Cheltenham (the same place my Grandpa Fisher is laid to rest). Because the funeral was 3,000 miles away from me and I was only one week post-op there was no way I could travel across country for the funeral. This was the hardest thing for me. I have never, not attended a loved one’s funeral and felt like I didn’t get to properly say good-bye and support my family. However, I want to say a huge THANK YOU to my amazing cousins who kept in touch with me, prayed for, asked about and supported me. You all made me feel so loved. Even the Homan cousins – who just lost their father, took the time to care for me. I have amazing family. There are nine of us cousins + husbands, wives and kids and I was the only one not able to be there. Somehow when there is a family gathering (sadly usually after losing a loved one) there is always at least one of us not able to be there. But I am SO happy all of my cousins and family got to spend time together. Hopefully we can all plan a gathering just to invest in each other’s lives and see everyone.

Since I could not be there, I wanted to show my love and support and memory of my Uncle John in some way. I wrote a poem and asked my brother to read it during the open sharing time for family. He read it at the reception after the service. I wanted to share that poem here on my blog too. My uncle meant so much to me and I still can’t believe he is gone. Uncle John I love you and you will never be forgotten.

Fresh New View –
In Memory of Uncle John Homan

My Uncle John
Was such an amazing man.
He lived his life
according to God’s Plan.

He meant more to me
Than probably he knew,
And he helped me to see life
From a fresh, new view.

The Pilgrim’s Progress
was one of his favorite books,
And he shared with me some copies;
Each with a different look.

He loved to read,
As do I.
We’d sit in conversation about our books
as the evening went by.

His love for his family
could not be mistaken.
And his faith in God
could not be shaken.

He’s in heaven now,
walking those streets of Gold.
Living a pain-free life
with friends new and old.

Uncle John we miss you –
And selfishly wish you were still here.
But God called you home –
He wanted you near.

So please know
That I LOVE YOU
And miss you I do.
But I will see you again one day – with that fresh new view.

Responses

  1. Your poem made me tear up. That was very beautiful and sweet of you. You will be in my prayers…I’m so sorry about the loss of your uncle.

    • Thank you Fallon. It is hard when someone dies at a young age – he was only 63. I can’t imagine losing a parent right now. Love you!

  2. Thanks Diane. You’re so kind.

    • You are most welcome, cousin of mine. I love you.


Leave a Reply

Categories

