Posted by: thedianestory | April 3, 2011

Painting Project

April 3, 2011

Hi friends. I am amazed how fast time seems to pass and pretty soon it has been nearly a month since I’ve posted last. I always start out at the beginning of the month planning to do better and get posts up at least every other day, but one thing or another leads to me not posting. We will see how I do this month. This is a post I’ve been meaning to write for a couple months now and haven’t gotten around to it.

You all saw the blanket post that I posted in January of the Chargers blanket I made my dad. Well, keeping with the football theme I wanted to paint him a little container to keep his change, or watch and ring or whatever in. See my dad loves containers (as do I) so I knew he’d enjoy having a little keepsake jewelry type box and I decided I’d paint one for him. Then after I started his I decided I should paint his wife one too, with the colors of her favorite football team.

Chargers Box!

Redskins Box!

This way, Jeanne wouldn’t have to be jealous of dad’s box and steal it like she does his blanket. 🙂 (Don’t worry Jeanne – your blanket will come). After I painted the boxes I needed to figure out a gloss finish for them. So I used good old Facebook to ask my friends if anyone new what I should use. I got a couple suggestions and one of them worked great.

Side by Side - open

Notice that Jeanne’s box is bigger. This way there is more room to fill with jewelry. What’s that Jeanne? You need more jewelry to fill the box? Hmm. Dad – looks like Jeanne needs a new jewelry item, or two! (Gotta love me)

Anyway, I used to paint all the time as a little girl and then the art just kind of faded. So I decided to dabble with it a bit again. It has been fun for me. Hope you like your boxes Dad and Jeanne! I enjoyed making them and surprising you with them. I love you!

Responses

  1. Thanks Diane, you gave me a nice smile with this on a day when I really needed something to smile about. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

