Posted by: thedianestory | February 1, 2011

My Biggest Sewing Project Yet!

February 1, 2010

This project was actually one that I began planning the end of 2009. That is when I got the starting fabric for it. Almost a year later, I still hadn’t sat down and worked on it.  Around November of 2010 I decided that I wanted to make this project double-thick, so I went and got a second type of fabric for it. Then I set out to begin work on it.

working on edging

As you can see, this project was a San Diego Chargers Blanket. The Chargers are my family’s favorite football team. When my dad was in the Navy he was stationed at Coronado, and while stationed there my brother was born at Balboa Hospital. When my mom was pregnant with my brother, my dad took my mom to a Chargers game. Since then, the family has loved this team. So I was raised to love this team as well.

Ever since I started learning to sew I wanted to sew a project for my dad, and when I saw this Chargers fabric at JoAnn’s I knew I had to get it and make my dad a blanket. My dad lives where it snows in the winter so I wanted the blanket to have some heaviness to it, so when I decided to make it double-thick I needed to get a contrasting fabric for the underside.

Solid Blue underside

As you can see, my cat Onyx, thought the blanket was nice and cozy and kept getting in the middle of the project.  Because this blanket is so large (it can fit at least a Queen size bed) I decided the easiest way to secure the edging was to use iron-on bonding to begin with and then sew over it to make sure it is nice and secure. Now, the iron-on instructions say NOT to sew over it. I found out why. It gunks up the needle and causes the machine/thread to jam. But once I knew that I just kept an eye on my needle and cleaned it off regularly. There is no way that I’d expect the iron-on stuff alone to stay secure through washings.

Cute baby Onyx!

This is what the final product looked like all nicely folded on my table. I never got any pictures of me at the sewing machine working on it because the blanket was so large my mom had to help hold it as I guided it through the machine!

Pretty and folded

It was interesting trying to fold the blanket small enough to get into a decent sized box to ship across the country. I actually vacuum sealed it in a trash bag and taped around the back and then used a shoelace to tie it up to contain it. You would laugh if I had pictures of those efforts! 🙂

I’m glad to report that my dad loved the present. I think his wife loved it even more and was super impressed with it. She got on the phone and said “you didn’t really make this did you?” I told her that I did indeed! So then she put in her request for her team blanket (Redskins). My dad called me the day after receiving the blanket to tell me that Jeanne was stealing his blanket. lol I told his was just gonna have to fight his own battles. 🙂 Jeanne – I’ve looked for the material and didn’t find it so I am gonna special order it. 🙂  You will get yours by Football season 2011. I’m sure I’d have better luck finding the material back there…but alas, I will do what it takes to get it out here!

So, there ya have it. I accomplished my biggest project to date. I have an even bigger one in mind to tackle but haven’t quite put the logistics together for it yet. When I do, I will blog about it too!

Right now I am working on one more football inspired project too. But I can’t blog about it yet because it is a surprise for someone. 🙂 What is your favorite football team? Would you like a blanket like this? Tell me about it in the comments!

Responses

  1. Very nice, Diane! Great job. Thanks for sharing it.

    Blessings and prayers, Bev Kennedy

    • Thanks Bev! Much appreciated. Glad you visit my blog. 🙂

  2. I love it! What a thoughtful, special, great looking gift!

    • Thank you Morgan! I love getting comments from you and knowing you are reading!

  3. I love it…I love it…Tell that cat…IT’S MY BLANKET…MINE…M I N E ! Now if I can only get my wife to let me use it…she steals it from me all the time.

  4. What an awesome blanket Di! That was so nice of you to do for your dad!

  5. […] all saw the blanket post that I posted in January of the Chargers blanket I made my dad. Well, keeping with the football […]

  6. […] little over a year ago I made my dad a Chargers blanket. It was my first blanket I ever sewed and I lined it making it double thick. It was over 2.5 yards […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

