Posted by: thedianestory | December 13, 2010

This Year’s Book Review – On That Night

My mom and I started reading On That Night for this years reading Saturday evening. I was caught off-gueard by the triggering of emotions that overcame me as we began reading.

It is interesting how you can read a book several times – in this case year after year, but yet have a different take-away from it each time. We read part one on Saturday which is everyone’s journeys to the church service and their account of visiting the Manger Scene that is set up at the Tableau service they are attending. It was in reading these accounts that my emotions were triggered. I literally got choked up and got tears in my eyes as I read.

It was reminding me of what the Christmas story is all about. I was reminded of Christ’s love and how passionate He is about serving us and loving us – His children! It reminded me how much the Christmas season has become more about the hustle and bustle and parties and gifts and how somewhere in it all the real meaning has become lower in the priority list. Do we remember the reason gifts were given in the first place? The first gifts were brought to the Baby Jesus who was born to be Christ, Our Lord. 🙂

I love this story so much and every year when I sit down to read it I am excited by the feelings that well up inside me. Mom and I will continue reading tonight and I will blog my final thoughts on Part Two when we finish.

If any of you decided to purchase and read the book, let me know. I’d love to hear your thoughts as well!

I hope each of you are enjoying the Christmas season. Remember Jesus is the Reason for the Season.

Responses

  1. Thank you Diane, I am going to find this book and read it. I love the transparency in your writing. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

