Posted by: thedianestory | November 16, 2010

Thankfulness – In an Update

November 16, 2010

“Rejoice always, pray continually, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.” 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18

Many of you out there know that I am going through some trying times right now with my health. I’ve been in and out of the hospital for the last six weeks. Most recently I made a trip to the emergency room on Thursday. My pain had gotten out of control the evening before, and I was laying in bed in tears. I was scheduled to go in for an MRA of my abdomen that morning, and knew there was no way I’d be able to lay still for the hour it required in the amount of pain I was in. So I made the decision to go to the ER and hopefully get some relief from the pain. Once there, my mom informed them that I had a the test scheduled that morning, so they decided just to load me up on medicine so I would be able to make it through my test. They ran some labs too. The labwork did show some things wrong, but were not concerning enough to keep me, so they let me leave and go over to my test.

I have the results back from the MRA. It appears the test looks normal, but I have not gotten to talk with a doctor about it yet so I am not for sure exactly if anything the test showed is of concern. It does appear there is some inflammation so whether or not that leads to any concern, I do not know.

I am still in dire pain most days. Tonight I have been battling massive amounts of stomach pain and other symptoms that I will spare you. I am trying to make it throught he night without ending up in the ER and then plan to call my doctors in the morning and see where I get.

Tonight I am reminded that God has a plan for my life. Right now I do not understand or know what that plan entails. But I have to believe that God’s plan is not for me to suffer like this each and every day. However there is a lesson to be learned in all things we endure in life. God calls us to be thankful in all circumstances. We are to praise Him in the storm. We don’t just get to be thankful when things are grand in our lives, but rather God says to give thanks in ALL circumstances – for this is His will for our lives.

So tonight I am thankful I am here, still living each day and getting to be a part of my family’s lives. I am thankful I have access to medical care to at least try to make strides in getting better. I am thankful I have a warm place to call home and an amazingly comfortable bed to lay my head when I don’t feel well. I struggle some days with my attitude – not understanding why it is I endure what I do. Some days I truly want to give up. But I know and trust that God has a plan for my life and is ready and able to heal me. I’ve seen him heal my body before, when I was a teenager close to death. I know He can do it again. And I know that God spared my life once for a reason so he must have something, some purpose in store for my life.

If I can do anything right now as I lay here sick and miserable, it is to give praise to the God who gives and takes away. The God who created me with a purpose – and I will continue to praise His name and serve His Kingdom.

Thank you Jesus for life.

Responses

  1. You are an amazing woman of God Diane! Your testimony will serve as such an encouragement to all people struggling with health issues and chronic pain. You encourage me to praise God in all things & I am a well person. You make me thankful for my health & even convict me that I should take better care of my self! Reading your blogs makes my heart happy & thankful that you know the Lord! I don’t know how others in your situation could cope without him because I know most days he’s all you cling to. Love you so much & I can’t wait for the day that the Lord heals you!

    • Thanks Sara. I am glad I can be any source of encouragement to anyone. When I feel so sick I have no idea how I am encouraging to anyone – but I do know what God has told me and I cling to Him each day.
      I am blessed to have you as a friend and a sister in Christ.

      I love you bestie!

      Di

  2. Right and Amen.

    Your words are not just “good attitude” or “positive outlook”.
    They are TRUTH Diane.
    God is good when we don’t understand what that even means.
    And He understands our frailty of mind and spirit as well as body.
    Even the angels are awed by truth spoken through pain like you know.

    You amaze me! HE amazes me through YOU.

    I loveloveLOVE you,
    ‘Lene

    • Thank you Analene. Your words are precious to me. You know you have been an inspiration to me to speak truth – though in writing this I was really just writing what was on my heart, and I am glad that truth came out of it.

      Thanks for you love. I LOVE you too!

      All my heart,
      Diane

      P.S. I guess my visit will have to be postponed to the spring – not sure I could handle the winter up there. 🙂 But I still plan on making a visit!


Leave a Reply

Categories

