Posted by: thedianestory | September 2, 2010

Surgery Report on My Mom

September 1, 2010

Hello friends. Mom’s surgery was August 31, 2010. Overall it went well, and the best news of all is she is CANCER FREE! We are so relieved by this news. Not all knew, but colon cancer was a huge possibility and had showed up on some previous tests. I truly believe God worked a miracle on our behalf before the doctors got in there. Thank you Jesus.

They did find quite the mess in there. They ended up cutting out about nine inches of her colon. There was an area that was all knotted up that looked like diverticula’s. All of that was butting up against the bladder wall (This could have caused the bladder swelling and bleeding, and she may not actually have Interstitial Cystitis as previously thought). Time will tell where the bladder condition is concerned, but she may end up being able to get off the medication for the bladder she has been taking.

There was indeed a fistula. The doctor said it was so big that he could stick his surgical instrument straight through it. He said he did not understand how my mom was even functioning and that she should be way sicker than she is/has been. However, all the symptoms she has been having are definitely correlated with the findings in the surgery. Thank you, Jesus for your protection over my mom these past many months.

Thank you friends and family who have lifted both my mom and me up in prayer. Mom had a tough day today (9/1) with pain issues – some due to negligent staff at Enloe who did not keep on top of her pain meds and left her sitting in a chair 7 times too long. Anyway, she definitely needs prayers for pain control, as well as blood pressure and oxygenation issues. There have been some problems with her blood pressure and oxygen stats dropping too low. I had them connect her back to oxygen this evening before I left. She seems to start resting better after that was placed again. I don’t think we are out of the woods yet, but know Jesus is with us.

Thank you everyone for your love and support.

I saw a new doctor on the 31st of August as well and have a health update, but that will wait for another blog. For now, I am exhausted and need some rest again. Blessings to everyone who is praying on our behalf. Mom and I love and appreciate each one of you.

Responses

  1. I am SO, so relieved to hear she is cancer free! Jesus is so good! I know that is the work of Jesus right there…what else could it be! I am completely ecstatic right now because of that news. I know it’s still a journey to healing, but with Jesus on our side…! 🙂

  2. Hi Diane,
    I’m so glad to hear good news for your mom. Praying for you both and I’m looking forward to hearing your update.
    Morgan

  3. Thanks for the update. Let me know if you guys need anything.


Leave a Reply

Categories

