Posted by: thedianestory | August 2, 2010

Remembering Grandpa Fisher

August 2, 2010

Me with my Grandpa

Today would have been my Grandpa’s birthday, but sadly he passed away in October of 2007. I miss him terribly and can’t even begin to count the memories I have with him. He was one of the most amazing men in my life and left an incredible legacy behind. In memory of Grandpa I am reposting the poem I wrote and read at his funeral.

I love you Grandpa and look forward to reuniting with you one day in Heaven.

Remember to Kiss Your Loved Ones

Remember to kiss your loved ones,

And tuck them in to sleep.

Tell them that you love them

And it’s them you want to keep.

Remember to kiss your loved ones,

As you never know when life will end;

For do you always know

What lies around the bend?

Remember to kiss your loved ones,

An example you can be.

Just like my Grandpa Ray

Was that example in life to me.

What is it like to be free?

What is it like to fly?

Grandpa could you answer me

As I turn my voice up high?

Streets of Gold                                                                        

You’re free to roam.

Because you walked that line

That brought you home.

I will never know

Why you had to go.

But I trust that God wanted you

for His next big show.

So this was the time Grandpa

For me to say Goodbye

You know I love you

And now I am going to cry.

Are you proud of me Grandpa?

Cause I am proud of you.

And now you can see that

From the very best view.

I miss you, I love you,

To the ends of the earth.

Now Grandpa you know

Just how much I think your worth.

So have fun in heaven

While I say goodbye

And rest in the arms

Of the One Most High.

Responses

  1. awwwww made me cry…. i miss my grandfathers something fierce! i cant believe its been almo

    • Thanks for commenting Suzie. It is always hard to lose loved ones.


Leave a Reply

Categories

