Posted by: thedianestory | August 1, 2010

Rheumatoid Arthritis

I’ve been doing some research on Rheumatoid Arthritis recently as my doctors believe that I have this disease. I am being referred to a Rheumatologist to make the final diagnosis but my symptoms and labwork point to the disease. The following is a section I came upon about coping with fatigue:

__________________________________________________________________________________________

*Fatigue

Plan ahead

  • Set your priorities for the day and think about how you’re going to accomplish them.
  • Realize that some days you just might not be able to do everything you want to do, and that’s OK.

Get enough rest

  • Get plenty of rest. Morning and/or afternoon naps may be helpful.
  • If you can find the time, take a 15-20 minute break in the morning and afternoon. Breaks can help build up the stamina you need to complete your day.
  • Pace yourself, even on good days. You will have days with less pain and fatigue, but if you do too much trying to make up for your bad day yesterday, you might make things worse for tomorrow.

___________________________________________________________________________________________

I was so excited when I read this because it was as if they had read my mind and knew exactly my thought process and how I live my life. I always go into each week and day with a plan of what must be accomplished, what I’d like to accomplish, and what will probably realistically get accomplished. Once those lists are made I think about the best way to make those things happen.

Sometimes I plan one or two things to do and then time to go back and lay down. Those one or two things can be as simple as getting up and taking a shower and having breakfast. Other days it is those two things combined with running one errand. It just depends how my stamina is on that given day. It was reassuring to me to read about being OK with the fact that some days I can’t accomplish everything I would like and also the advice to not try to make up for a bad day previously because it may make the following day worse. I felt so understood just reading this. THIS IS HOW I LIVE MY LIFE!!!!!!!!! Someone out there understands me. There are others who live similar lives.

Overcompensation for prior bad days is one of the biggest mistakes I make over and over again. When I finally get out of bed and feel good at some point my mind instantly starts racing with what I’ve missed and what I should do to catch up or get ahead. Reading this reminded me that is okay just to continue pacing myself. This is the life I lead and it’s okay.

Not all can understand. Not all want to understand. Some want to understand, and this can help. I hope this helps give you, my readers and friends, a glimpse into the life I lead to help you Understand Me.

___________________________________________________________________________

*Copyright belongs to the website that is linked under Rheumatoid Arthritis.

Leave a Reply

Categories

