Posted by: thedianestory | August 1, 2010

Homemade Headbands

August 1, 2010

This post is long over-due. This project is actually a project I completed with my niece, Analisa when she stayed the night with me. We have been getting in to crafting together and when she showed up at my house with a silk flower her cousin had given her I instantly thought “we can turn that into a headband” as I have seen several of my friends blogging about in the recent months.

I had all the supplies, minus the headband itself so all we needed to do was make a quick trip to the dollar store to pick out some headbands. Has anyone noticed how expensive it is for ONE headband at Walmart or Target? It is crazy! Thank goodness for the good ol’ Dollar Store! I ran into the store by myself while Lisa went into Michaels with my mom. Once getting in there I was bummed she wasn’t with me because I found two headbands I thought she might like. So I just got both of them and let her pick. Then once we started making them, she decided after we completed hers, she would make one for me.

Creative minds at work!

My mom snapped pictures of us as we went along.

Breaking for a picture

Since we only had one flower, we used other supplies like ribbon and buttons to create my headband. Here is a picture of the finished creations on our heads!

Aren't they great?!

And just for fun, I taught my niece how to make my famous Funny Face for the camera…

Good Times!

It was super fun making headbands with my niece. We decided we should have a once-a-month project…except we already missed July. Guess we might have to make up for it this month. She is starting Cheerleading so we’ve been talking about making matching hair ties for her team. Stay-tuned for the next creation!

Responses

  1. Check the “Dollar Spot” at Target for headbands. They have an amazing selection typically.

    • Hmm. I don’t recall ever seeing them at my Target, but I will pay attention next time I am in there. Thanks for the tip! Love you.

  2. Looks like fun!


Leave a Reply

Categories

