Posted by: thedianestory | July 19, 2010

Surprise Michigan Trip

July 19, 2010

My brother is getting married on August 14, 2010, and I am the maid-of-honor. However, because the wedding is in Michigan I have not been able to do the normal duties of that person, so her best friend has done everything, who is also in the wedding party. Really though, Darcie is like an MOH too in reality. She is like a sister to Elika, but because I am family Elika wanted to honor me with that position. Anyway, all that being said I was really feeling sad about not being able to be at events for my soon to be sis, Elika. This weekend was her Bachelorette Party and I really wanted to be there. After much research, I found a flight available last minute with frequent flyer miles, so I was able to fly out for free and surprise her.

Bridal Party at Dinner

We all went to dinner at Champs. This included the bridal party, the wedding coordinator (who is like a mom to Elika), and some other close friends.

The Whole Gang!

Elika looked super adorable and seemed to have a blast – which is what we wanted!

Miss Bachelorette

After dinner all of us went to a local place to go line dancing. Another group of friends met up with us there and there was another round of gift-giving.

Future Sisters!

I was so happy to be able to be there to share this moment. Elika seemed to have a wonderful time as she danced the night away! I will be flying home today and will then return in three weeks to finish up last minute wedding details and then of course the big day will arrive.

26 days to the wedding and counting! I love you Elika and can’t wait to share the special day with you and my brother. It was a joy to be there for you this weekend!

Responses

  1. Can you email me the pics? You’ve got some good ones! Great to meet you and looking forward to our girl time again in less than a month 🙂

  2. Looks like fun! Glad you were able to be there for her & that it was free! Love & miss you!

  3. Ahhh…. so THAT’s what you’ve been up to!
    My dear friend,
    Did you have spinach in your teeth, or were you feeling punk?
    I’ve been worried about you but figured you’re just trying to maintain. I love you lots. I hope the next couple weeks go smoothly for you and mom. For D and Elika too.

    All my heart,
    ‘Lene


Leave a Reply

Categories

