Posted by: thedianestory | July 9, 2010

Fingerprint Friday

July 9, 2010

Every Friday, Becki over at The Rusted Chain hosts Fingerprint Friday. This is how it works:

There is a song by Steven Curtis Chapman that says:
I can see the fingerprints of God
When I look at you
I can see the fingerprints of God
And I know its true
You’re a masterpiece
That all creation quietly applauds
And you’re covered with the fingerprints of God

So look around you and see where YOU can see God’s fingerprints. Is it in nature? Kids? Animals? Where do you see them? Here’s how to join in. Please sign in only if you’re participating. Hopefully this will make us look at things through fresh eyes throughout the week.

1. Blog with your interpretation of God’s fingerprints. Be sure to link back over at Becki’s blog, so others can find the entire list of participants.
2. After you’ve posted your blog, sign the MckLinky in her comments section of the current Fingerprint Friday Post. Have fun exploring the other links as well!

____________________________________________________________________________________________

This week’s picture is of some very close family friends renewing their vows for their 50th wedding anniversary.

Dave and Joyce Bladorn

It was not a fancy ceremony or anything. Just one more part of the evening celebration to honor their marriage. What a testimony it is of them to be married 50 years and still as madly in love as the day they met. I know few people who demonstrate God’s love the way these two do. I can’t even begin to write about what a blessing they have been to me. They have always been there for me when I have sought out wise council. Joyce has run me to and from countless appointments and has supported my endeavors in all walks of life since my family met her and Dave more than twenty years ago. God’s fingerprints are certainly everywhere in the lives of these two people.

Dave and Joyce – you are to be commended. Your love for God radiates through you. Thanks for being such a Godly examply to me. I love you both so much!

__________________________________________________________________________________________

My brother’s wedding shower was just a couple weeks before this 50th celebration and we had the bottom layer of the cake left from the wedding shower. The cake was amazing and since it was only the bottom layer the top of it was not decorated. So I called Joyce to see if she would like to have it for their 50th celebration so they would not have to order and pay for so much cake. She was delighted with the offer and requested a tractor to be drawn on the cake. She had actually shared that request with my mom, and then my mom asked if I would do it because she says she has no artistic ability.

I will say that artistic ability runs short in this family, aside from musical arts. For this reason I was not too sure why my mom thought I could do any better job than she, but I agreed to take on the challenge. The invitations to the 50th had a stamp-art tractor on the front so I used that as my guide for drawing the tractor. First I practiced drawing the tractor on paper and then I started in on decorating the cake. I must say I am actually quite proud  of the way it turned out and everyone at the celebration seemed impressed with it, so I gave myself a pat on the back. 🙂

The other cake Joyce had done was made by one of our friends from Mary Kay, who is a professional cake decorator and teaches the cake decorating class at our local Michaels. Half of the invites for the 50th had watermelons on them, so Joyce requested this cake to have watermelons on top. It was really cute.

And finally here are the two cakes sitting together at the 50th celebration.

side by side

What do you think? Happy Friday everyone!

Responses

  1. You did a GREAT job on the tractor! Both cakes are adorable!

    Your friends sound like wonderful people. 🙂

    • Thanks! And yes, my friends are pretty wonderful. 🙂

  2. How sweet!! Hope my hubby & I make it to 50! We are at 18 now!! =)

    • 18 is awesome too! you should celebrate big for 20 as well! Congrats. Thanks for saying hello. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

