Posted by: thedianestory | January 29, 2010

New Year Health Update

January 29th, 2010

I don’t believe I have posted a health update this new year yet, so here it is. I was waiting until I had this doctor’s appt. today to write another update.

Recently it has seemed to be “two steps foward, one step back.” Over Christmas I started to get a little better. I started being able to keep small amounts of food down and gained some energy. However, there were and are still times where I am fine one minute and then without warning my body shuts down, pain peaks and I am doubled over to the chair/couch/floor, whatever. One instance over Christmas Vacation, mom and I had just arrived at Elika’s parents home ready to start the day. Suddenly I was struggling to breathe and everything was dizzy and I felt like I was going to throw up. I ended up just going to bed to lie down for awhile, which turned into the entire day, so that is frustrating.

The last few weeks I was able to eat and keep food down without much of a problem, and then all the sudden in the last week, I have begun to start puking again when I eat. Not everytime, but more than it had been for awhile. So once again I am having to be very, very careful with what I put in my body. On top of this, my stomach pain has been thru the roof and I am struggling to function.

I saw one of my doctors today and he is making some changes in medications. He believes some of the combinations of medications I am on could be causing my nausea and since the main pain med I was on doesn’t seem to be controlling the pain he is changing it to a new drug. This drug just came out on the market and is a combination drug that should control the pain. For privacy reasons I do not discuss the names of my medications on my blog. This new drug is a once a day drug and then there are two other drugs I normally take for breakthrough pain. We changed the plan of what to take when, and taking the stronger of the two more and trying to stop taking the other one for now, or maybe just one a day if I really need it.

Aside from medication my doctor is running several labs testing for some other diseases, including an immunological disorder that he is concerned I may have. I have to fast for these labs so I will do that some time in this next week. Yeah for being poked with more needles! So over it.

My doctor is also concerned about the emotional component of what is going on with me, given the surrounding circumstances I face in my life, and has made some suggestions/plans in a course of treatment  for that. Because some things in life are not for the world to know, I am choosing to keep the details of that private. However, I would welcome prayer for discernment and wisdom in this area. I am not entirely sure of what I plan to do in this aspect.

I see the doctor again in four weeks and will give you another update then, if not sooner. Once again thank you for your love, prayers and support. I certainly would not get through some of my days without them. I am grateful for all of you out there who have and are here for me.

Blessings,

Diane

Responses

  1. Hang in there kiddo!!! We continue to pray for you. We were travelling for most of December and January, but are homeward bound tomorrow, so I will be able to keep more in touch. There was a girl on our King´s Kids tour who reminded me a lot of you . . . so even though I wasnt able to read your updates . . . I was reminded of you all of the time! Take care!

    • Thank you Ramona! That means a lot. I appreciate your friendship, care and concern.

  2. I hope you know you’re always in my prayers, and I love you very much.

    • I do know Fallon and I love you too. Miss you as well.

  3. I hope his experimentation on your meds works. I loved having you here and I was so glad for the most part you did and felt well. I hope you have better days ahead. I can’t wait for you to visit again and see our new place. I will have an official guest room then so you will be much more comfortable! Love you & praying for you daily!

    • Sara I love you so much and am so grateful for the time we shared together. I also love that Ethan knows better who I am again. Hopefully more frequent trips can happen. Thanks for being such an amazing friend.

  4. Love you! I’m here for you. We really should catch up soon!!!

    • I love you too. Yes we need to catch up. I felt too sick to talk tonight, but hopefully soon.


Leave a Reply

Categories

