Posted by: thedianestory | January 23, 2010

Aunty Di Time!

January 22, 2009

I was lucky enough to be able to drive down to Fresno with my bestie Sara on Tuesday. She had been in town for her grandma’s funeral over the weekend and stayed a couple extra days to spend time with me. I had some obligations in town Tuesday morning so I asked Sara if she’d stay until I could leave town and then I could go home with her for a few days. It had been almost a year since I had seen her son Ethan, who is 27 months, so he didn’t really remember me and it took him awhile to warm up to me. So I really wanted to be able to go to Fresno and spend time with Sara and Ethan so he could build more memories with me now that he is a little older.

Playing with the Pooh Tree House with Ethan

Ethan warmed up to me once he was at my house staying with me and things were quieter with less people around. That made me feel much better. Sara has pictures of me up at home and always points me out and says “that’s Aunty Di” so she says he knows who I am, but I was sad at first when he wasn’t warming up right away. By the end of the time in town he was a complete love, but I still wanted to go home with he and Sara and make lasting memories with him. I don’t get much time with my bestie and it is important to me to be a part of Ethan’s life. On the way to Fresno we stopped in Roseville to get Sara’s ring serviced, so while it was being worked on we went to the Galleria and shopped a bit. We let Ethan run around in the play area so he could get some excercise and use some energy too. We had rented a stroller at the mall since Sara didn’t have her own in the car with having so much luggage and stuff for the trip.

Ethan's favorite flower in the play area

Ethan seems to enjoy me being here in Fresno. Aunty Di plays rough with him, letting him tackle me in the floor. Mom has a baby in her belly so she can’t do that with him and dad is at work during the day, so he is enjoying a ittle bit of extra play time with his aunty! I brought along a hot pack for my tummy, which is actually a neck wrap and Ethan has enjoyed stealing it from me and wearing it around the house.

Cheese!

I do not have as many pictures from this trip as I would have liked because my camera battery was pretty much dead and I forgot to pack my charger. The lesson to be learned from this is that I need to keep my charger back in my computer bag like I always have. I usually keep all my “media” items in my computer bag, but for some reason have recently been putting my camera charger in another drawer at home. If I would have had my charger in my bag like normal, I would have had my charger for my camera without even thinking about it because I most always bring my laptop with me wherever I go! So, lesson learned and luckly Sara snapped a few pics of this trip with her camera. Otherwise I wouldn’t even have these few to post on this blog.

So, that has been my week. I’ve enjoyed my time with my bestie and nephew. Sara’s husband has been awesome as well. Thanks for putting up with me for a few days Marcus! Sara, I have enjoyed spending the week with you. We don’t get to do it often enough. Ethan, I love you!

Responses

  1. I’m glad I was able to stay with you part of my Chico visit and that we were able to make you coming back with us work out! I hope we don’t go another year without seeing eachother again! Ethan, Marcus & I love you very much! You are always welcome!

  2. Sounds like you had a great visit!


Leave a Reply

Categories

