Posted by: thedianestory | November 21, 2009

Post Appointments Update

November 20, 2009

"Get Well Flowers"

I had two doctors appointments yesterday, but was so wiped when I got home that I did not get on to update the blog. My first appointment was with my surgeon. This is the surgeon who did my gallbladder surgery. He checked my incision sites and said they looked good, which I already knew. He said that I am about 85% recovered from surgery, but he doesn’t think that has anything to do with me still not doing well. He caught up on everything that has happened since my first hospitalization and feels bad that I am still this ill and that San Fransisco didn’t really come up with any answers. There is not much more that he can do for me as he is just a general surgeon, but he wants to keep updated on what is happening with me. So, for now I am released from his care and will see him “as needed.” He gave me a huge hug when I left and genuinely felt bad for me.

Next was my appointment with my GI doctor from Feather River. Ugh. I waited for two hours to see my doctor, only to have the WRONG doctor walk in to see me. So then they had to move me to another room and wait to see MY doctor again. So, my doctor came in and talked to me. We went over all my test results and all I have been through. So far everything has been normal. He says he is happy not to have to tell my I have Crohn’s Disease or another ailment, but also feels bad that I am this sick without any answers. I told him my GYN is doing the laporoscopy on Monday, and he was happy about that as this doctor can look at the outside of the bowel and everything where as GI doctors just look inside everything. He went over a focus of Proper Lifestyle. There are eight points to a healthy lifestyle, following this acronym that he went over. I will blog about that separately. Anyway, one of the main things to focus on right now is proper rest so we are trying to get me resting well. He is going to see me again on the 17th of December, after surgery, and see how I am feeling then. We are hoping surgery shows something and I will be on my way to doing better. If I am still sick then we will figure something out from there. Most likely I will have to be referred out of town again as everyone locally is just baffled as to why I am so ill and is not sure how to help me. This GI doctor I am seeing happens to be a Christian and has prayed with me before every procedure he has done. So yesterday during my appointment he asked if he could spend some time in prayer with me. I of course, said yes. So he prayed with me before I left. It means so much to have a Christian team of doctors overseeing my health care. I can’t tell you what a difference it makes knowing they are trusting in God’s healing powers as well. It is so awesome.

Well, it is Friday night and my surgery is Monday morning. I have to be at the hospital at the crack of dawn and my surgery is first thing in the morning. I will be hospitalized for the first day and will most likely be released on Tuesday. I am hoping to feel half-way decent on Thanksgiving and enjoy a day with friends and family. Please continue to pray for my health. Please pray for both physical and emotional strength. Pray for the doctors as they work on me and pray for God to guide their hands and minds.

Thank you all for your amazing support. And if I don’t end up writing before then…Happy Thanksgiving. Remember to count your blessings in your life. I am thankful for each and everyone of you.

With a thankful heart,

Diane

Responses

  1. which hospital are you to be staying at? feather river?
    i’m really glad that you have a Christian doctor who’s trusting in God too. that’s amazing ๐Ÿ™‚
    lots of love & prayers
    – fallon

    • Hey Fallon. Yes, I will be at Feather River in Paradise. I love you so much. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. i forgot to click the box that says notify so this is what this comment is for ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. Im thankful for you too & praying for you daily. it is encouraging that you have Godly docs involved in your care!


Leave a Reply

Categories

