Posted by: thedianestory | August 29, 2009

Saturday Surprise

August 29, 2009

I started a Saturday blogging idea about a month or so ago, and called it Saturday Surprise. Until I change it up, the surprise is a picture from the past. This week’s picture from the past will spawn a good blog too! Here is what I dug up:

Chico State - 2005

Chico State - 2005

This picture was taken for my graduation from Chico State in 2005. Here is the deal – I walked in graduation in May 2005, but had one more semester to finish. I went back in Fall of 2005 to finish, but became very ill. On top of my “normal” pain issues and illness, I came down with Mononucleosis and Pneumonia. I was so very ill, that I had to withdraw from that semester. My health continued to deteriorate after that time with the medical issues I have been battling for years so I never went back. Life moved on, I got married and I focused on getting my husband through his studies and then thought, perhaps then, I would go back to finish.

As you know if you have been reading my blog, my marriage broke up in December when my husband left. My health has still been bad, so I have never been able to finish. However, because my marriage is ending and I am out on disability, I have been going through a time of self-reflection and praying about where God is leading me. What I have found is a huge desire to finish my education and continue to pursue my dream of becoming an elementary school teacher. I am unsure exactly how I will handle finishing as I am still ill, but I have decided that at least this Fall while I am unable to work still due to my illness, I am going to begin studying for the CSET – California State Exam for Teaching. I figure this way I will be one step closer to what I need to have completed to enter the credential program after I finish my Bachelors Degree. I can sign up to take the exam on any of the exam dates, as I don’t have to be enrolled in school to take the test.

I will also be figuring out over the next month or so what I need to do to finish up my degree. I am getting really excited about moving forward in my life. It has taken so much for me to be able to even focus on the future, but I am finally able to see some light at the end of this dark tunnel I have been in, and it feels good!

To those ladies out there who lift me up in prayer – please pray for God to make clear to me what steps to take and that God would pave the way for me to finish up my studies and accomplish my dreams. I am excited to see where the Lord takes me.

Blessings everyone!

Responses

  1. Hi, honey!

    You make my heart happy. I am thrilled that you are coming into this place of what God has said His plan is for you, “to have a hope and a future”.

    “For I know the plans I have for you, says the Lord. Plans to prosper you and not to harm you…to give you a future and a hope.” Jeremiah 29:11

    Diane, read the context, just before this,he is visitng in captivity and performing His good word toward you, causing you to RETURN to this place…His plan for your future and hope! Followed by, He will listen when you call, when you seek Him you will find Him, He will be found by you, and He will bring you back from your captivity, He will gather you, and He will avenge you!

    It is time!

  2. I always pictured you as a teacher. You will be a great one! Things will get better. Always thinking positive thoughts about you and your health. Love you Di.

  3. That last comment was from me. I forgot to put in my name. oops.

  4. Thank you Vicki. I appreciate it. Who knows…perhaps I will teach your girls someday! lol

  5. Praying as always!
    I’m proud of you

  6. I’ll be praying! Love & miss you!

  7. Very cool. I know that this has been vey hard on you. I am here for you and hope that you can go back and finish your classes. Life is to short so do what you can and enjoy at the same time.

    Love, Mom


Leave a Reply

Categories

