Posted by: thedianestory | July 25, 2009

Baking Banana Bread

Late last night I could not sleep. My mind goes crazy when I cannot sleep.  I looked over to the kitchen counter and saw the bananas either needed to be used in baking, or thrown away. I don’t like to throw food away…so at midnight last night I decided to make a loaf of banana bread. Now, it is just a quick bread. So basically in about 85 minutes from start to finish I had my bread done.

The hardest thing about making banana bread at night is that you are supposed to let it sit overnight before cutting into it. It smells so good coming out of the oven that you just want to eat it! Anyway, I resisted and let it sit overnight. Then I brought it to my friend’s house where I am currently and shared with everybody. So far we have devoured half the loaf!

Here are some pics of the bread making experience:

Empty bowl after pouring the mix

Empty bowl after pouring the mix

Getting ready for the oven

Getting ready for the oven

 

Out of the oven

Out of the oven

Then out of the pan

Then out of the pan

And there you have it. One loaf of banana bread! It is very yummy!

Responses

  1. YYYYYYUUUUUUUUUUUMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM!!!!!
    I love banana bread! Looks great and I think I can smell it, too!
    This definitely qualifies as a gift for Pay-It-Forward Creatively, Diane.
    Do any of your recipients live locally enough to get a fresh loaf? It is always wonderful to have home cooked, or home baked gifts.
    Love, love, love.

    • It was amazing bread. Yes, a couple live locally and I plan on making them some. I was hoping Sarah was one of my five…but she wasn’t…so she just got a gift of friendship! lol. Next time I will just buy a bunch of bananas and let them sit, then double the recipe and gift some people some bread. And, just because I love you…I plan on making you some, as well! Love you bunches….like bananas! lol

  2. Do you put nuts in it?

    • Nope! No nuts. I like it better without any nuts. And I put less nutmeg and more cinnamon than the recipe calls for.

  3. It was super duper yummy. Jesse and I finished it off as a snack after church today with homemade butter….we were waiting for linner to finish cooking.

    • Nice. I figured I’d leave the rest for you…beings that I am such a good friend and all. lol 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

