Posted by: thedianestory | July 6, 2009

Fourth of July

July 6, 2009

Not having wireless connection for my laptop has really made me neglect my blog this month. Sorry to all of my readers! It isn’t very comfortable to sit at this computer and type. However today is my last day here so I thought I would post one more blog.

My Dad and his wife, my brother and his girlfriend, and myself all went to Washington D.C. for the fireworks. They are shot off on the Reflection Pool in front of the Lincoln Memorial. We were sitting on the side of the Washington Monument, facing the Lincoln Memorial. To say the day was amazing is an understatement.

We could see the White House too!

We could see the White House too!

Washington Monument

Washington Monument

Flags around the Monument

Flags around the Monument

We got to the Mall Lawn around 4pm. They had concerts throughout the day to keep everyone entertained before the fireworks began. We found a place on the lawn, spread some blankets out and got seated. We got some food, played some games, took some walks, and just had a really fun time together. The weather was hot for about an hour or so and then the clouds rolled in and covered the sun; making it the perfect temperature with a nice breeze. So, it was not bad at all waiting for fireworks for the day.

Playing Cards - someone offered to take a group pic!

Playing Cards - someone offered to take a group pic!

Concert Stage

Concert Stage

Famous Self Portait!

Famous Self Portait!

Lincoln Memorial - Zoomed in from across the Reflection Pool

Lincoln Memorial - Zoomed in from across the Reflection Pool

There were SO many people there. It was really amazing to experience a whole day of the fourth of July at our Nation’s Capital. Being surrounded by all of the history on Independence Day was incredible, and reminded me just how blessed we are to live in a free nation. I stopped and paused to remember those who have fought for our freedom, and those who are fighting for our freedom as we speak – of which many of my friends are doing. Suddenly the reason we celebrate Independence Day became real. I was incredibly blessed and humbled.

Dad and Me

Dad and Me

Fun Pic! (Me and Elika)

Fun Pic! (Me and Elika)

My Brother and Elika - So cute!

My Brother and Elika - So cute!

Finally it was time for Fireworks for to begin. It was truly the most amazing fireworks show I have ever seen. It was set to music and there were SO many fireworks at once. I am so glad I got to experience the fireworks in D.C. this year. Here are some pics of the display! We also got an incredible goup pic with the fireworks behind us. We had befriended the people sitting next to us after their little girl needed band-aids and of course, I had some in my purse! So after that broke the ice, we traded turns taking pics for our groups! Hope you enjoy the rest of these pics! Leave me a comment and let me know what you did for your fourth of July celebrations!

Danny and Elika

Danny and Elika

Dad and Jeanne

Dad and Jeanne

Just Me!!!!!!!!!!

Just Me!!!!!!!!!!

Group Shot!

Group Shot!

CIMG6021CIMG6017CIMG6022

 

 

 

 

CIMG6022CIMG6024CIMG6027

 

 

 

 

Hope you enjoyed this post. Please remember to pray for our nation, its freedom, those fighting for that freedom, and our leaders in government. Though we may not all agree with who these leaders are and what they are doing within our government, we must continue to pray for them and the decisions they are making for us. Hope you all had a wonderful fourth of July.

Blessings!

Responses

  1. What great pics of the fireworks! My camera takes horrible night time pics so bad that we want a new camera soon. As I said on FB, so jealous! You have traveled so much and seen so much! I hope to see more of our beautiful nation someday and that include DC. Glad you had such an awesome time! It would have been a perfect time for Danny to pop the question. Any talk of such things yet?

  2. Awesomeness!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

