Posted by: thedianestory | April 19, 2009

There’s No Place Like Home

Like MY Red Shoes?

Like MY Red Shoes?

Since January when I quit my job and moved home with my mom I haven’t exactly felt like I have a “home.” This is not to say that my mom has not welcomed me back into her home, but rather I don’t feel I have a “place.” My mom’s house is my home base for me, however because I am coming and going so much, this just feels like stopping place between other places life is taking me.

I have also stayed a night or two with several friends these past few months since everyone has been so concerned about me and wanting to spend time with me. I am enjoying getting to do things in life that I otherwise would not be doing, getting to travel and spend time with family and friends. However, I still feel lost and not sure exactly where life is going to end up for me.

You know, suddenly being on my own again and trying to figure life out has been hard. It would be one thing if I were healthy and could easily work full time and take life whereever I wanted. But the reality is that my body is sick and I unfortunately am not able to hold down a full time job. This is because many mornings I wake up in so much pain that I can’t move. Which means that when I have a job to be at, I have to call in sick. I can’t exactly hold down a job for long when I have to call in sick so much.

So, while I am enjoying having some freedom in life to see and stay with family and friends periodically and I am making the most out of every moment, I am concerned at being able to have that “home” for myself once again. I don’t know how my body is going to heal and get to a point where I can support myself and create a home for myself. My heart aches in my current situation and I am trying to figure out where I am to be and what steps in life I need to take.

Life certainly is a journey, isn’t it friends? I am in amazement at how quickly life can change and spin out of control, or out of our own control that is. I am reminded all the more though, that we must be right in our relationship with Christ. For our relationship with Christ is the ONLY thing we can be certain of and secure in. I know I will be okay if I keep trusting Jesus. It is still a bit scary to walk this road I am walking, but I find comfort in my father’s love. As emotionally distraught as I am, I do my best to rest in His arms and trust my God to carry me, protect me, and show me my next steps in life.  One day the phrase “There’s No Place Like Home” will have a whole different meaning.

Responses

  1. hehe I love your red shoes 🙂 And I sort of know how you feel. I don’t quite feel like this is “home.” But I will find it soon I hope!
    Love you

  2. I love you too!

    I also LOVE my shoes. I should have come over with my matching outfit…lol. Too bad my feet hurt and I wanted to wear my NEW shoes!

  3. I think as Christians we all face times when we long for “home”, when this worlds struggles are too much and we wish we could just have it all go away. I can’t imagine what you have to deal with daily, but I am conforted knowing that you & I share an amazing father who will provide for you and give you comfort! I pray daily for your healing and I hope that someday your life can be more “normal”! Until then, you are welcome to call my home home anytime you need to get away for a while! We miss you! Love you very much!


Leave a Reply

Categories

