Posted by: thedianestory | February 2, 2009

Faith

February 2, 2009

Thankful for God's Blessings

Thankful for God's Blessings

A friend recently asked me “how do you have strong faith no matter what happens?” I’ve been pondering that answer for a week or so now and wanted to be able to put my answer into a blog. I figured it would be a nice thing to blog about as I get back into the blogging world. Anyway…I answer that question with another question…I say, How can I not have faith?

My Heavenly Father is the ONE person who will never fail me. Jesus promises  in Deuteronomy 31:8 that he will never leave us or forsake us:
“The LORD himself goes before you and will be with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged.”

I have been through so much in my life – illnesses, betrayals, losing loved ones, and so much more. God has walked me through all of them. He has walked me through the highs and lows. But I am here today because of Him. When the world seemed like it had nothing to offer me, God showed me that there was more to live for. God showed me that he was not through with me yet, and that I needed to trust him. God declares in Jeremiah 29:11

“For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

I cling to this verse through the hard times. I realize that God sees the bigger picture in my life. While I only get to see one stepping stone at a time, God sees the entire path lit up and he has plans to prosper me. Really? My Heavenly Father cares so much about me, that he wants to prosper me and give me hope and a future? YES! God cares so much about each of us. These are HIS promises to us.

It is not my job to understand all that is happening in my life, rather it is my job to trust Jesus and to walk in obedience to Him. Sometimes this will mean going against the popular vote in society and acting Christ-like in the struggles you are facing, rather than giving in and giving up and going with the normal flow that society would like to see happen. We live in a culture that is filled with evil, where other people get a thrill off of others failures. This however, is not what Christ intended. Christ intended for us to lift each other up and encourage one another, so that we might prosper in HIS righteousness.

There is that word again – PROSPER – how do we make that happen? By walking in obedience to Christ and trusting him with our entire lives. This means stepping out in faith even when we do not understand and we know that we are challenging what a majority of people would do.

We are instructed to encourage one another is these verses:

1 Thessalonians 5:11
“Therefore encourage one another and build each other up, just as in fact you are doing.”

Hebrews 2:12
“But encourage one another daily, as long as it is called Today, so that none of you may be hardened by sin’s deceitfulness.”

Hebrews 10:25
“Let us not give up meeting together, as some are in the habit of doing, but let us encourage one another—and all the more as you see the Day approaching.”

What is faith?

Hebrews 11:1
“Now faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see.”

And so I trust my Heavenly Father to provide for me and to carry me through all of life’s circumstances. It is not always easy, and I have definitely had my share of heartache, but I know that if it were not for the love of my Heavenly Father I would not be here today and I would not the person that I am today. I find my strength in the faith I have in Christ. For that, I am forever grateful.

Responses

  1. Thanks Di,

    This helped a LOT. It’s just not an easy thing to DO. I am trying my absolute hardest! Love you.

  2. Good answer Di!

  3. Diane,
    You are missed.

    I love you dear friend,
    em


Leave a Reply

Categories

