Posted by: thedianestory | November 4, 2008

From the Words of Anne Frank

November 3, 2008

“In spite of everything I still believe that people are really good at heart.”

I have always had a fascination in Anne Frank’s story. I think she had an amazing story to pass on to generations. I have studied the Holocaust at length and took a special interest in her story. When I was in eighth grade the Anne Frank Museum came through Chico and set up a museum in the mall for a month. I took classes to become a tour guide there. All the school’s were doing field trips. While my friends were at school, I was at the museum leading the tours for the school groups. When my eighth grade English class went to the museum to take the tour, I led it! It was pretty cool.

That to say, I find a piece of myself in Anne Frank. The above quote is how she saw the world. Despite everything she had been through, she never lost hope in the people. She believed that people were really good at heart! I find myself thinking along the same lines. Despite how many times people fail me, I still believe in the good of a person. I usually end up getting hurt over and over because I want to believe in people. I just don’t give up easily on people. So I give them chance after chance, because I believe that everyone can be a good person, and believe that underneath all the bad in a person, they really are good at heart! Some people just don’t know it. Some people don’t even realize when they are letting others down, and some people get so caught up in other things they don’t realize their actions are detrimental to others around them. I just keep believing in people…even though that leaves me in tough situations sometimes.

But see, God has given me a heart for people. I look for the good in people and I strive to bring it out in them. Some people give up on people easily, sometimes in an effort to avoid being hurt, but that is just not me. That is just not the heart God has given me. I press on, despite the hurt, and work to bring out the good in other people. And I really do believe “In spite of everything, people are really good at heart.”

Responses

  1. I LOVE Anne Frank! I actually had not heard of her until this year, when I studied her in US History. I admire her for all that she wrote and believed in. I still haven’t read the Diary though!
    I hope that someday I can give people chance after chance, instead of being so afraid of being hurt. In time.

  2. This was a very good blog. I can see your personal struggle and your holding on to what God has made you to be.

    I am the same way, though I know the Word of God says the heart of a person is desperately evil, who can know it? and that God never says to trust a person, but to trust Him.

    He also says to love one another, and to be slow to anger, quick to forgive, to walk in peace with all man as much as is possible.

    Also, 1 Cor. 13 says that love believes all things, hopes all things. I think this is to encourage us to not let bitterness and past experiences to jade us into not being able to give someone a chance, or another one, or another one.

    Because, even if their own heart is not good, God can give them a new one! He says He is the God who turns a heart of stone to a heart of flesh!

    They can have a dark, mean and hardened heart, and turn around and genuinely have a new heart with all the precious outlook that a baby has.

    It just takes wisdom from God to learn from the past yet not be jaded. You are on the right path, kiddo. Keep keepin’ on.

    God never gives up on us. Who are we to give up on each other?
    I blogged today, too! Lost control of the picture thing though. LOL! How the heck to get them to go where I want them and to stay there, I don’t know. Works sometimes, others not!

  3. I have trouble with pictures too…so I am not much help with that! It is difficult and I don’t know if there is a way around that or not!


Leave a Reply

Categories

