Posted by: thedianestory | November 1, 2008

TDPT – The Journal

I like the purple one!

Ten Daily Positive Things - Journals!

My parents divorced when I was sixteen. This is one of the hardest times I have gone through in my life. I didn’t see my dad hardly ever after the day he left, and I just lived with my mom. My brother was away at college so I lost both of the men who were important in my life. My heart was broken and I did not know how to go on. Truth is, I didn’t want to go on. I wanted my life to end. I wanted the pain to stop. I had my faith, and did trust God to get me through, but some days that was a hard thing for a broken 16 year old girl to trust in. It was not a tangible. It was not something I could see. There was no audible voice for me to hear.

So I had an incredible blessing during this time in my life. A guy who was a close family friend stepped into my life even more than before and became that fatherly figure who was missing in my life. This man sacrificed two hours of his evening to talk to me on the phone (he lives out of town) for months. And I mean every night, hours, for months. He listened to me, let me cry and brought comfort to my broken heart. Then there came a time in our conversation where I was depressed, deeply, and talked about ending my life. He wouldn’t have any talk like that. He made me get a notebook and write ten daily positive things about my life. He made me find positive things in my life to think about. This way I did not just focus on the negatives surrounding me. Somehow, this got me through. Between him talking to me and listening and making me find positives in my life, coupled with my faith….I am here today. If it were not for him, and obviously God’s intervention, I may not be here today, and I certainly would not be who I am in Christ today.

There is so much more to the story that I will have to share later. But I wrote this today to say that I believe in writing ten positive things down each day. I have passed it on and am helping a young friend I am “mentoring” do this, to help get her through her trials. Of course encompassing Faith into all of it as well. It’s kind of funny because I didn’t realize how much of an impact this had on me until I started passing it on, and realizing and thinking about the things that have brought me to where I am today. It’s even funnier when I start typing out advice and what God has shown me through my experiences and I think to myself “where do come I up with this stuff?!” And then I am reminded of the call God placed on my life during that time I was walking through my own struggles (more about that in another post), and I am seeing how much God HAS healed me, and shaped me, and molded me and just how much I have grown. And again I am realizing how God is using those hard roads I have walked for HIS GOOD PURPOSE.

Thank you Jesus for:

1. Medical Insurance

2. Sending your SON to die for us

3. The Bible

4. My husband

5. My Family

6. Rain

7. Beautiful Fall Leaves

8. Transportation

9. My home

10. My dad being in my life again

Romans 8:28

“And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.”

What are you all thankful for right now at this moment in your life? I’d love to hear from you!

Blessings!

Responses

  1. I’m grateful for…YOU! I don’t care how many times I say it, I’ll say it again. Thank you for caring! Not sure(and I don’t really want to think about) what would’ve happened otherwise. You came back into my life at the time which I needed you the most. I LOVE YOU!


Leave a Reply

Categories

