Posted by: thedianestory | October 25, 2008

Becoming Old-Fashioned – Kinda?

So the older I get, the more reserved I am becoming in my thinking. Why most of the world is on to the next piece of technology (including my hubby), the next big or best thing, achieving the status of another level, moving up in the world, I am becoming more annoyed at how consumed the world is becoming with stuff. I am annoyed that we can no longer just “enjoy” each other’s company; we must have something else with us to keep us entertained. Cell phones, iphones, televisions….they are all around us.

I am so tired of going out to eat somewhere and not being able to be left just to the company of whomever I am with. Either they are whipping out a cell phone, or there are televisions every ten feet in the restaurant. How did society become this way and why are we all so consumed by it? Now I too, am quite addicted to the phone…but I do not pull it out and play on it while at dinner with people, and I HATE eating at restaurants with televisions.

In fact, I have a list of restaurants that I choose from when I really want to be able to have conversation with my hubby if we go to eat. In other words…there are SO MANY restaurants I have to avoid if I don’t want to lose him to the television!!!!!!!!

When can we get back to simplicity? Why can we not just live in the moment? I am ready to not be surrounded by so much busyness. I need a break from the chaos around me!

Just my ramblings for the evening….

Responses

  1. I found your site on Google and read a few of your other entires. Nice Stuff. I’m looking forward to reading more from you.

  2. Oh, yeah honey.

    You are singing my other song. LOL!

    The other day, while I was talking with someone at work whom I rarely have time with, Gene called on the cell. The look of shock and surprise on this dude’s face was so great as I said, “and here he is now!” and silenced the phone. He couldn’t believe it, and even thought I was rude to Gene!

    You see, we were talking abuot Gene!
    This dude knew him back when, before I dated him, and they worked out in the same gym downtown. In spite of how much Gene has changed, he remembered him when he met him with me one day.

    Here we were, talking about what a great guy he is, how awesome and all, and I go and silence his ring as he is calling me at that moment! LOL!

    I said, “I can play his message and get right back to him. He will be listening for it.”

    I didn’t want to disrespect this dude, and I didn’t want to break the flow of praise of my sweet honey! ;O)

    I also got to hear how he saw him and felt about him back then, right at the time Gene and I were working together and getting ready to be a couple.

    I, too feel it is rude and disrespectful to stay on a phone during a meal or visiting time, and unless it seems to be urgent, I don’t even pick it up while we are out. I do listen to the message, if one is left, to see if it is urgent. If not. Oh, well.

    We used to live without all this stuff. How did we do it then? It was the only life we knew!

    And, PLAYING with the phone while out with someone? ugh! Sadly lacking in social graces, manners and respect. Unfortunately, that is the condition of our society lately, and I even see so many seniors slip into this without thinking. gasp!

    You would not believe what it is taking to get the employees of our company to stay off their phones during company time, and there are laws to consider!

    We are pathetic people these days.

    I never thought of the TV’s in restaurants. Gene doesn’t see or hear well enough to lock-in-on them, and is bothered by the “noise” of it all. And I, I was trained well by my mother that the TV is off during meals, so it is not to be watched while eating with others. Plus, I hate competing with the noise while trying to converse with someone, too.

    I hear you, honey. I hear you.

    I do love my gadgets, and my online communications and all, but I don’t want them keeping me from people I know and love. Rather, I want them to enhance relationships and compliment them.
    I have been quite guilty of playing my Zune Mp3 while surrounded by people I know, but at that time, I need the break to get my head together and the music helps. Then, when someone is trying to talk with me, or looks like they want my attention, I pull it out of my ears. I am trying to not do that at all, anymore, but at home I am still guilty and need to pull them out and say, “what?”. LOL! In all honesty, I was that way with the record player in my brothers’ room while I was growing up, too. Just get locked in.

    I guess there is a tension in it, isn’t there? The tension between self and relationship, between needing to escape and relax, and pushing out of yourself to meet another’s need.

    When I see someone with their IPOD in their ears, or their bluetooth and they are in another land, I just smile and try to understand that they may need the escape just to get to work. But, it can be so frustrating to realize that what used to be the 5 minutes we had to catch up with each other has now been stolen away.

    Something to think about.

  3. “I do love my gadgets, and my online communications and all, but I don’t want them keeping me from people I know and love. Rather, I want them to enhance relationships and compliment them.”

    Agreed! I don’t think anything bugs me more than when my mom and I are in the middle of a conversation or just out shopping(doing something together) and she answers her phone…and talks and talks and talks!

  4. I did post a blog on this response, too and it is better.
    I sure do love you!

    I know you are so exhausted and in pain so often, but keep talkin’ at me, honey! And sharing your friends and love is great therapy and can help you through so much.

    Never forget you are the light in this dark tunnel you find yourself in. Shine brightly!

  5. Thanks Shelley Jo. I am gonna head over to your blog now.

    You’ve inspired me to try to write more again!

    Love you!

  6. Hey sweety! I agree too much technology! But, I think you knew that about me already. 🙂
    I have something for you at mu blog, stop by and pick it up when you get a chance.


Leave a Reply

Categories

