Posted by: thedianestory | October 21, 2008

Corn Chowder

I was looking through my cookbook tonight and came upon a corn chowder recipe. I LOVE corn chowder and had two ears of corn in my fridge that needed to get used. So, I was reading the recipe and seeing if I could make it without going to the store. With a few substitutions I made it….and it was DELICIOUS! My hubby ate three bowls tonight. I thought we would have lots of soup leftover, but there is only maybe two or three bowl servings left. And one of those I have promised to my mom tomorrow! This is the first time I have made soup, and I am on cloud nine that it tasted so delicious.

The recipe is from the Better Homes and Garden Cookbook. Here is the recipe:

Corn Chowder

6 ears of fresh corn or 3 cups frozen whole kernel corn (I used only 2 ears of corn)

1/2 cup chopped onion (1 medium)

1/2 cup chopped green sweet pepper (1 medium) – I didn’t have these so I left them out

1 tablespoon cooking oil (I used safflower oil)

1 14-ounce can chicken broth (I used a chicken boulion cube in two cups of water)

1 cup cubed, peeled potato (1 medium) – I used one cup of rice instead

2 tablespoons all-purpose flour

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon black pepper

1 1/2 cups milk

3 slices bacon, crisp-cooked, drained, and crumbled, or 2 tablespoons purchased cooked bacon pieces (I left this out, because it did not sound good to me!)

2 tablespoons snipped fresh parsley (optional) – I didn’t have it so I didn’t use it

1. If using fresh corn, use a sharp knife to cut the kernels off the cobs. You should have about 3 cups corn kernels. Set Corn Kernels aside.

2. In a large saucepan cook onion and sweet pepper in hot oil until onion is tender but not brown. Stir in corn, broth, and potato. Bring to boiling; reduce heat. Simmer, covered, for 10 to 15 minutes or until vegetables are tender, stirring occasionally.

3. In a small bowl combine flour, salt, and black pepper. Stir milk in flour mixture; add to corn mixture in saucepan. Cook and stir until slightly thickened and bubbly. Cook and stir for 1 minute more. Add bacon; heat through. If desired, garnish each serving with parsley.

So there you have it. Oh ya, the prep time is about 30 minutes, cook time is about 15 minutes, and it makes about 6 servings. I made this while talking to Mommy Reg the entire time. I hung-up with her to eat! Let me know if you try it. Hubby and I thought it was absoulutely delicious!

Responses

  1. I am so glad it turned out well. I might just have to make corn chowder now.

  2. Yummy! I love corn chowder and potato soup. They are my favorite foods in winter.

    I am so proud of you for having such great success with your first homemade soup, and for being up for the task, too.

    You know, a good cook is one who makes food that people enjoy. You and your man enjoyed it, so you are a good cook!

    Tell your mom I am jealous of her bowl.

    Love you,
    Shel

    Oh, and what is mommy reg’s name? I went to the church Gaylord pastored for over a decade. Perhaps we know each other.

  3. Shel,

    So mom came down sick today. She has bronchitis, laryngitis, and an upper respitory infection. So she ended up not coming over for soup. So Nate and I polished it off for dinner tonight.

    I will have to make a big batch next time and take some to you and Gene and Mom!

    love you,
    di


Leave a Reply

Categories

