Posted by: thedianestory | October 12, 2008

Encouragement From A Far-Away Friend

An Art Project I Did in College

An Art Project I Did in College

Today I received an email from a friend who I have not heard from in quite some time. I think of her often, and apparently she thinks of me often too, but see, we have many, many miles that separate us. She and her family are missionaries across the other side of the world. Despite the distance, they have always remained near and dear to my heart. Which is why it meant so incredibly much to me today when I received the email from her that I did.

She encouraged me in my walk with God and called me her hero. I have only ever been called a hero before by her children actually, and I learned that through her. I remember thinking back when she told me that in a message last year, that her girls thought I was their hero that I wasn’t sure that is really what they meant. But she told me again that I am her hero. She told me how it is an encouragement to her that I keep my faith and keep trusting God throughout all I am experiencing. This message from her touched me so much.

I do not write this post to boast on myself, but to write and say that you know how I keep saying that I don’t understand why I go through what I do? How I do not understand all the pain and suffering that I incur? It’s messages like that email I received that touch my soul and keep me going. It is those messages that give me hope for tomorrow. If I can be an inspiration to just one person, then it is worth it, and I can endure more.

May I never lose hope for tomorrow. May I never stop serving my Lord, my God and King. And may I never forget what amazing friends I have, even across the miles. To the friend who sent that email, thank you. Thank YOU for letting God’s light shine through you. You know your example of God’s love did a special work in my life, and for that, I will be forever grateful. I love you.

Responses

  1. I LOVE YOU


Leave a Reply

Categories

